DEV Community

Stefan Neidig
Stefan Neidig

Posted on

How to create series on dev.to?

Wanted to create a series about github actions. I added the frontmatter meta like so

---
title: Github Actions introduction
tags: ...
series: Github Actions
---
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I also added a second draft article, that is not visible yet. However, there is no series shown in the article that I expected (see screenshot of example). Is there something I am missing? Thanks for any help :)

Image description

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

I'm not sure whether or not you can do it with frontmatter (I never tried). But you can do it from the settings for the post. Maybe it isn't showing because the second post is still a draft? With a series, each post links to all others in series. If 2nd is still a draft, the first can't link to it yet. And if there is only 1 post in a series, it doesn't show as series until there are at least 2 posts. See what happens after you post your draft.

Collapse
 
dasheck0 profile image
Stefan Neidig

Ok. Will try. Thanks!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Oh good question, Stefan! I believe I know what's happening here and it's kind of confusing.

We don't actually display information about the post being part of a series until there is more than one entry in it. So, once you write your second entry in the series the Table of Contents and title for the series should show up for everyone.

I'll bring this up to our Product team as it is kind of confusing the way it doesn't currently show that for you!

Collapse
 
dasheck0 profile image
Stefan Neidig

I see. Thanks for clarification. It would already help to have this information as part of the faq / docs, since I looked there first.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

No problem and good point!

I've just added it to our FAQ along with a link to this Best Practices for Writing on DEV series which begins with Creating a Series.

The FAQ likely still needs some updates, but hopefully this helps.