DEV Community

Cover image for We're DigitalOcean and we're excited to be here with you!
DigitalOcean for DigitalOcean

Posted on

We're DigitalOcean and we're excited to be here with you!

Hey everyone! We're so excited to be here at CodeLand:Distributed.

DigitalOcean offers the most easy-to-use and developer-friendly cloud platform. We help you manage and scale apps with an intuitive API, multiple storage options, integrated firewalls load balancers, and more. We're on a mission to simplify cloud computing so developers and businesses can spend more time creating software that changes the world!

Got Questions?! Let's chat!

Sammy the shark and our team members are here to connect with any questions you might have. We'll be at our DEV Connect channel all day, so stop by and say hello!

We're also happy to respond to any comments down below. 👇

Digital Swag

Today, we're offering all CodeLand attendees a $100 USD free trial. Sign up below and we'll follow up with all the details:

Sign up for a $100 DigitalOcean Promo!

You must first sign in to DEV.

We also have some fun wallpapers for anyone looking to spruce up their desktop or virtual backgrounds. ✨

Job Opportunities at DigitalOcean

DigitalOcean is a values-driven organization. Here is what we believe in:

  • Our community is bigger than just us
  • Simplicity in all we DO
  • We speak up when we have something to say and listen when others DO
  • e are accountable to deliver on our commitments
  • Love is at our core

Come swim with us: https://do.co/careers

developer-community

Top comments (24)

Collapse
 
jdoss profile image
Joe Doss

I have been hosing my personal email server on a droplet since 2015. DigitalOcean has been one of the most stable and responsive IaaS providers I have used. I love their service and I am so happy they are sponsoring Codeland!

My DO Account

Collapse
 
zaltsman profile image
Daniel Zaltsman

Thank you for being with us for such a long time, Joe! Please send me an email so I make sure you have some DO swag for being such a loyal customer (daniel at digitalocean dot com). We wouldnt be here without you! 💙

Collapse
 
thinkverse profile image
Kim Hallberg

What's the monthly rate on running a private email server? Would love to see an article about running a private server.

Collapse
 
jdoss profile image
Joe Doss

Total per month right now is $38 USD.

I spend $15/mo for a 2 GB / 2 CPUs with 60 GB of SSD disk space and 3 TB transfer at Digital Ocean. I also enable backups on this VM which is $3 extra a month. I then use cPanel to manage the server and that license is $20 a month for five cPanel accounts. You can just pay $15/mo for cPanel if you just need one account. One cPanel account can host unlimited domains, email accounts and forwarders. This lets me keep my personal email accounts separated from my FOSS email accounts. I have given email accounts to friends and family, for free, off of one of my domains, so I have the more expensive license.

That being said, you could setup everything you need: MTA, DNS, Antivirus, DKIM, SPF and Anti-spam yourself on a Linux server and you would just have the costs of the VM. I just pay for a cPanel license to handle that for me. I used to work in commodity web hosting back in the day so installing and managing my email with cPanel is kind of a no brainer to save time. I keep saying I am going to build and automate my own mail server stack... too many sideprojects... not enough time.

There are FOSS mail server projects out there like github.com/tomav/docker-mailserver and mailu.io/1.7/ which both seem pretty promising.

If you are interested in running your own mail server, it is totally do able. I have since 2002 :)

Collapse
 
yashrajnayak profile image
Yashraj Nayak

Hey Daniel 👋👋

Glad to see DO here at CodeLand

Collapse
 
zaltsman profile image
Daniel Zaltsman

Hey Yashraj! It's so great to be here with you! 💙 Let's have a great CodeLand

Collapse
 
yashrajnayak profile image
Yashraj Nayak

Yay! for sure.

Collapse
 
ileriayo profile image
Ileriayo Adebiyi

Hey Digital Ocean,
Great to see you here!
I've been using Digital Ocean for about a year and I must say that you have one of the best tutorials I've seen on the internet.

Are there any openings for writers or engineers? It would be exciting to join you.

Thanks for sponsoring Codeland.

Collapse
 
zaltsman profile image
Daniel Zaltsman

Hello Ileriayo! Thank you for the support and interest - we're really glad to hear that.

At this time we don't have full time roles open for those teams but you can always keep an eye on open postings here: do.co/careers.

If you're interested in writing and contributing to our knowledgebase you can do that starting today by applying for the Write for Donations program here: do.co/w4do

Collapse
 
ileriayo profile image
Ileriayo Adebiyi

Will do, thanks!

Collapse
 
kyla_christin_e profile image
Kyla Gregory

I've heard DigitalOcean mentioned many times on the base.cs podcast. I think I'll actually read up and look into what you guys are all about! Cute wallpapers, btw!

Collapse
 
mumbledenoise profile image
mumbledenoise

I've been using DigitalOcean for years. It's clearly the most thought out and professional of all the cloud services I've ever used. I recently sent this message to a friend who was asking for advice on which cloud service to use:

DigitalOcean >>>>> (Competitor service #1) > (Competitor service #2)

Collapse
 
zaltsman profile image
Daniel Zaltsman

Thank you! And we appreciate your support too 💙

Collapse
 
basedhokage profile image
basedHokage

I have been using DO on and off since 2015 but really got down to learning about it this year with Docker and Github actions. DO is super powerful and inexpensive

Collapse
 
zaltsman profile image
Daniel Zaltsman

Thanks for your years of usage! Keep us posted on what else we can do to make it a better experience for your needs ideas.digitalocean.com/

Collapse
 
panditapan profile image
Pandita

Just posting here to thank you for your OAuth tutorial, it helped me a ton last month <3

bye!

Collapse
 
jdno profile image
Jan David

Hey DO! Great to see you here, and thanks for sponsoring the conference. ❤️ Love the platform, even more so after I started automating my setup with Terraform.

Collapse
 
zaltsman profile image
Daniel Zaltsman

Thats awesome, Jan! We're big fans of Terraform and if there are any specific ways we can make using it with DO better, please let us know! ideas.digitalocean.com/

Collapse
 
bam92 profile image
Abel Lifaefi Mbula

Thank you for supporting CodeLand.

I'm a tech writer and I'd like to write on DigitalOcean. Any suggestion?

Collapse
 
basedhokage profile image
basedHokage

digitalocean.com/community/pages/w... , I've been thinking about it for a while now but I haven't gotten around to it

Collapse
 
zaltsman profile image
Daniel Zaltsman

A great place to start would be here -> do.co/w4do

Collapse
 
themobiledev profile image
Chris McKay

Thanks for the digital swag. I've been planning out a VPS, as well as looking to move my small business over from my current host to you guys for a little while now.

Collapse
 
zaltsman profile image
Daniel Zaltsman

Thanks, Chris! Let us know if there is any way we can support. Hopefully you'll find what you're looking for in our product documentation: digitalocean.com/docs/

Collapse
 
nicolehopkins7 profile image
Nicole Hopkins

I'm just beginning my coding journey so this is my first conference and first introduction to this but I just wanted to say that I love the wallpapers! :)