DEV Community

Donal Byrne
Donal Byrne

Posted on

Skate - minimalist multi-host mini-paas

Hi,
I'm the author of https://github.com/skateco/skate
Skate is a container orchestrator and also a P.A.A.S that deploys kubernetes manifests, but without the need to run anything near as complex.
There's no control plane, which has it's tradeoffs, but is ideal for homelab setups (I built it for just that for myself). Skate supports multiple-hosts.
The motivation is that I'm very comfortable with k8s in my day job, but I want something simple yet flexible for self hosting at home. Dokku has been my go-to for years, but it's always stuck on a single node, and I like to buy crappy hardware, so I wanted something that would support multiple nodes.

You get the basic building blocks from k8s: Deployments, Daemonsets, Cronjobs, Services, Ingresses.
An nginx ingress using letsencrypt runs automatically.

Would love to get some feedback and some curious users :)

Top comments (0)