DEV Community

David Cantrell
David Cantrell

Posted on

CPANdeps end of life

Back in 2007 I wrote CPANdeps, a web site which analysed dependencies between distributions on the CPAN, and displayed them along with their CPAN testers results.

I have decided to retire it, for several reasons. First, metacpan has sprouted tentacles to do the dependency analysis. Second, the code is a mess and it needs quite a bit of work to cope with the current size of the CPAN-testers database. But third, and most importantly, the employer that I left over a year ago are withdrawing the free hosting.

I've not actually used the site myself for a while, preferring the command line version. That, like metacpan, doesn't include test results, but I've found that I generally don't care much. Nigh on everything Just Works on every platform I care about.

It's going away on or shortly after the 17th of May. If anyone would like to take it over and host it themselves please email me.

Top comments (0)