DEV Community

Gulnur Baimukhambetova
Gulnur Baimukhambetova

Posted on • Updated on

My first pull request!

Hello everyone!

Today, I worked on developing an extra feature on my friend's tool Rohan-SSG. For that, I had to go through multiple steps in order to ensure that all of my changes are done safely following the best practices.

First of all, I had to file an issue on his repo stating my enhancement intentions. I had to explain the goal and my solution idea. After that, I forked his repo to make the changes in a copy of his work under my profile instead of the original. I also created a new branch which had a self-explanatory name such as an issue number. I made all of my changes on that branch locally, pushed them back on GitHub and opened a pull request.

My issue was about adding support for markdown syntax features such as italics and bold. The heading 1, heading 2, and a link features were already developed, so I had to integrate my new implementation into existing code. I looked through the file system, found where the logic was located for my part, understood the general coding and commenting style and followed it. I also updated the files used for testing to contain italicized and bold markdown text, so that my new featured could be tested. I made sure everything worked before committing. Lastly, I checked the documentation to see if I had to update any information, but there was nothing about currently supported syntax features.

My friend reviewed the changes and everything looked good. However, he requested for me to add a line in the documentation to state all of the supported markdown styles. I did that and the pull request was accepted and merged to the main brunch.

Generally, the experience was great! It was interesting to check out other's code and collaborate. Moreover, I was extremely excited to see my profile picture and name under the contributors tab. So proud.


Besides that, today was also the day when someone has contributed to my repo for the first time! My friend added a markdown capability for italicized text to my repo and requested a pull. I thoroughly went through all of the changed lines and reviewed the code. It was lovely to see that the other person has followed all of my styling and coding conventions. So respectfully. I forgot to request to change the documentation so I did it myself as it was not a big deal.

So far, I am getting much more comfortable with Git and Github. Cool!

Top comments (0)