DEV Community

Gutopro
Gutopro

Posted on

what i've learnt so far using Reactjs

I've been around webdev for a while now and I've learnt to approach each day as a newbie. First day using react and i was so astonished at how wonderful it was, from being stuck at the React default src web page to creating components and importing them into your App.js folder. it's marvelous I tell you!!! well I'm still learning; I haven't completed a website yet but I'm working on it plus this is my first post and I'm super excited!! P.S tell me what you think, thank you!!!
Image description

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
webjose profile image
José Pablo Ramírez Vargas

I can relate to your feeling right now. However, as you move along getting better and better, you start to feel a burden. One day you decide to "see what's out there", and realize that you can do better. Personally, I think Svelte has already beaten all competition. Its simplicity is just brilliant.

Collapse
 
gutopro profile image
Gutopro

thank you for your words of encouragement. I've never heard of Svelte, but I'll be sure to look it up btw what do you consider best practice? writing all your css in the App.css file or each component having their own css file ? cus I've found it difficult debugging the App.css file since it contains a whole lot of css I'm looking for an easier approach

Collapse
 
webjose profile image
José Pablo Ramírez Vargas

I am probably not the guy to ask this, as I am a back end developer. I am just honing my skills up in the frontend area recently because, as tech team leader of my group, I must decide on the future of my application as a whole.

I will, however, volunteer my opinion based on my tech team leader standpoint: There are 2 important aspects to consider:

  1. App.css does not get any treatments if not import'ed in a JS file.
  2. App.css teaches you CSS.

The latter is simple to explain: At some point you must learn the rules of CSS. How the browser works. At some point you must realize that you cannot escape this task if you want to master frond-end building.

The former has to do with understanding how modern frontend projects work. It is generally advantageous to import files. This puts them inside the processing pipeline of your build process. If you ever want to master something like single-spa, which is what I'm doing right now, you'll learn that this is your friend, more often than not. Why? Because in single-spa, we want CSS scoped to components. So having CSS per-component is good.

I don't know. I feel like I made a mess of that explanation. Still, there it is.

Thread Thread
 
gutopro profile image
Gutopro

lol thank you so much it was crystal clear i could see the picture you painted. I'll definitely take what I can from your lesson. thank you once again and just so you know I leave here better than I came