DEV Community

Cover image for btw, I use Arch
HaxNet
HaxNet

Posted on

btw, I use Arch

Take a look at my scrot

Alt Text

I will be honest, I fell back to Win10 for a while. Now I am back again on Arch and forgot how much I love it. I edit my grub-customizer configuration so that Arch will auto start instead of Win10.

For my Arch Linux users that uses i3wm, please do yourself a favor and install autotiling.
See my screenshot? It auto tiles each app. It is awesome. I've been using this since forever. I don't even bother with the whole template thing that i3wm offers. Too much of a hassle.


I do not remember the full history since it’s been a while. I was always a Window user since 1.3 and using MS-DOS.

Around 2002-2003 I heard about Ubuntu being an intro to Linux so I decided to try to install it on my laptop. A lot of the drivers weren’t compatible for anything. I spent so many hours just trying to install a wifi adapter. It was pretty much impossible for me to use because a lot of software just weren’t on par with the mainstream software. Wine was not as good as today’s Wine. So basically my laptop with Ubuntu was a really crappy DE and all I did was play Tux game where he just slides lol

I eventually switched back to Windows when they came out with Win7. One moment in my life, I ended up getting everything Apple. Eventually I got bored and went back to Win10 because of Oculus Rift.

Two years ago, I didn’t even bother with Ubuntu anymore, decided to just go into Vanilla Arch because I heard you can do a lot and plus this phrase “btw, I use arch” got me curious. I guess it is a type of pride and accomplishment status if you can say that.

I eventually installed it correctly after a few mistakes where I forget to add in a command and then the next time I remember that command and forget another command lol
After being able to do it, I came across ArchLabs and here I am.

I don’t need to do vanilla arch anymore. It is way too time consuming, but I did it before so I can say “btw, I use arch” hahaha

Top comments (0)