DEV Community

heygauri
heygauri

Posted on • Updated on

Outreachy series: "Introduce yourself"

Outreachy Intern May 2023

Hello readers. I am sumitra sharma, and I would like to introduce myself as an Outreachy Linux Kernel Intern. I have been selected as an intern for the May 2023 cohort. I am excited to work with the fantastic mentor’s Ira, Fabio, and other Linux maintainers.

I will be documenting my internship journey in this blog series.
The blogs will be as follows:

  1. Introduce yourself
  2. Everybody struggles
  3. Think about your audience
  4. Kmap Patch Explained
  5. Final project progress blog post

Learn about Outreachy at https://www.outreachy.org/

Outreachy

I am pursuing M.Tech in Computer Science & Information Security from Malaviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur. I have been selected as an Outreachy intern for the Linux project — “Converting kmap() and kmap_atomic() call sites to kmap_local_page()”.

My core values are hard work, dedication, optimistic & hopeful.

I start anything by preparing myself to focus on doing the work, and the rest is not in my hands. Often people complain and hesitate to take action. Instead, one should focus on the steps; after some time, one will realise how things come into place.

Once I start on a task, I put my everything into it. I built a strong dedication towards my work. I get satisfaction when I produce a quality product with my hard work.

Being optimistic becomes an essential part of my journey. During work, we face failures; sometimes, things don’t go how we want them to be despite the daily hard work we put in. At such moments, being kind to yourself and others(co-workers) is vital to remain self-motivated and maintain good relationships. If we can hope, then why not for something good only? It will give us more energy and an optimistic viewpoint towards our work.

Working in FOSS is a transformative journey that combines my passion for technology, collaboration, and making a positive impact. The vibrant community, freedom to innovate, continuous learning, and tangible real-world outcomes motivate me to be part of the FOSS movement. It’s an opportunity to contribute to a global community, shape the future of technology, and leave a lasting legacy.

The open nature of FOSS projects fosters an environment where knowledge is freely shared, barriers are removed, and everyone has the opportunity to contribute. This ethos of openness promotes inclusivity and leads to breakthroughs that benefit society as a whole.

To me, Outreachy came as an excellent opportunity. I was motivated by the opportunity to contribute to open-source projects that have a global impact. Outreachy is a platform to give back to the community, collaborate with others, and work on projects that align with their interests.

Top comments (0)