DEV Community

Cover image for Finding myself.
Hakeem Adjei
Hakeem Adjei

Posted on • Updated on

Finding myself.

First Start

Started my journey into software development around this time last year. My first language was python; my intentions were all around learning AI (artificial intelligence). The experience was mixed, on some days I was excited about all the syntax and concepts, and on other days I was ready to give up.

print "Hello World"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Trickle down

After patchy relationships with tutorials and guides, I thought maybe I should try something else. Figma was my door to UI/UX design.

I loved it. Designing was never a route I envisioned at a younger age (because I hated drawing in school) but I did have great respect for those that adored it. For a chance to play with px, strokes and fills, I started to build familiarity. Colours and shapes expanded my curiosity into learning more about graphic design, User experience and design. I had to try Adobe products like Photoshop, Illustrator and After Effects too.

Settle

It is quite difficult to find exactly what to accept as a career path. I am still on a journey to become the best that I can be whether it means learning Java, JavaScript, Python, React and Flutter.

I am a newbie designer on a learning journey to design and code solutions for others while sharing and collaborating on that journey.

β€œFind your own sweet spot, take your talents and enjoy them, share them and expand them β€œ
-Kofi Awoonor

Top comments (0)