DEV Community

Cover image for Don't Just Say Hi....
Abdulqudus Abubakre
Abdulqudus Abubakre

Posted on

Don't Just Say Hi....

As tech enthusiasts, we would at some point, for one reason or another need to reach out to someone. It could be that you need help with a bug in your code, career advice, or mentorship....whichever case, just go straight to the point.

  • You're most likely going to get a response if you go straight to the point rather than just saying hi or hello.
  • You'll save yourself a lot of time, especially if you have a bug you need help with. Rather than going through the whole process of exchanging pleasantries, just go straight to the point.

Imagine I have a bug in my code I've been trying to fix, and I need help from someone. Rather than just saying hi and waiting for a response, here's how I would reach out to them

Hi, I have issues trying to setup docker on my computer, I keep getting xxxx error message. Here's a screenshot of the error

Or I could go further to introduce myself
Hi, I'm xyz and I got your number from abc. I get this error in my console, it says xxxx and it happens whenever I click on xxxx button. Here's the function called whenever the button is clicked

It's that simple. You don't have to go through the whole hello, how are you, how's your day going..... Like I said, it saves you a lot of time, and you're most probably going to get a response.

Note: This is just my opinion. If you have contrary opinions and you would like to discuss them with me, my DMs are open on twitter, feel free to reach out...and don't just say hi πŸ˜‰

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
sebbdk profile image
Sebastian Vargr • Edited

I’ve had this discussion before.
There’s nothing more annoying then having to reply, then wait, and then maybe get to the point.

So much work/time is wasted like on this.

I agree, in chat, just get to the point. :)
If you wanna do courtesies write an email or call instead.

Collapse
 
ibn_abubakre profile image
Abdulqudus Abubakre

Exactly.

Collapse
 
fardjad profile image
Fardjad • Edited

nohello.com (I'm not the author)

Collapse
 
enyichiaagu profile image
Amazing Enyichi Agu

Wow. Thanks for the advice

Collapse
 
rashjnr20 profile image
Junior X βœ¨πŸ‘»πŸ₯‹

Awesome bro. Nailed it