DEV Community

Jonathan Gamble
Jonathan Gamble

Posted on

Using Sharable Runes with TypeScript in Svelte5

I don't know about you, but I don't like using Runes with $state in Svelte 5. Sure, they're easier to set data in your component, but I don't write code and manually put getters and setters.

Single Responsibility Principle

I don't write state inside my component except in small apps. I like to create reusable shared hooks. If it can't be shared, it is still better to follow the SRP for clean coding techniques.

rune.svelte.ts

First, I created a rune that works like Nuxt or Qwik Signals. I don't want to call the variable as a function, and I don't want to call set. The value attribute is the best implementation. You can create your own if you disagree.

export const rune = <T>(initialValue: T) => {

    let _rune = $state(initialValue);

    return {
        get value() {
            return _rune;
        },
        set value(v: T) {
            _rune = v;
        }
    };
};
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This is what I use instead of $state everywhere in my app, with the exception of small changes in a component.

Shared Store

If you follow my posts, than you've seen a version of my shared store. It can be done with Runes as well.

import { getContext, hasContext, setContext } from "svelte";
import { readable, writable } from "svelte/store";
import { rune } from "./rune.svelte";

export const useSharedStore = <T, A>(
    name: string,
    fn: (value?: A) => T,
    defaultValue?: A,
) => {
    if (hasContext(name)) {
        return getContext<T>(name);
    }
    const _value = fn(defaultValue);
    setContext(name, _value);
    return _value;
};

// writable store context
export const useWritable = <T>(name: string, value?: T) =>
    useSharedStore(name, writable, value);

// readable store context
export const useReadable = <T>(name: string, value: T) =>
    useSharedStore(name, readable, value);

// shared rune
export const useRune = <T>(name: string, value: T) =>
    useSharedStore(name, rune, value);
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Using this method, you can call useRune in you app for shared state anywhere.

Component 1

const user = useRune('user', { ...user state });
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Component 2

const user = useRune('user');
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And it will just work!

Custom Runes

You can do the same thing with custom Runes. Let's say I want to keep track of the Firebase user's state, and I want to share it across my app. I don't want to keep calling onIdTokenChanged. I can simply created a shared hook.

const _useUser = (defaultUser: UserType | null = null) => {

    const user = rune(defaultUser);

    const unsubscribe = onIdTokenChanged(
        auth,
        (_user: User | null) => {
            if (!_user) {
                user.value = null;
                return;
            }
            const { displayName, photoURL, uid, email } = _user;
            user.value = { displayName, photoURL, uid, email };
        });

    onDestroy(unsubscribe);

    return user;
};

export const useUser = (defaultUser: UserType | null = null) =>
    useSharedStore('user', _useUser, defaultUser);
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Now I can use:

const user = useUser();
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Anywhere in my app (hooks or components!), and is SAFE for the server. I believe this should be built into Svelte (and all Frameworks). The closest thing I have seen is useState() in Nuxt --- not to be confused with React.

Hope this helps those that are migrating to Svelte 5. I will be updating my SvelteKit Firebase Todo App article in the coming weeks.

J

See Also:

  • Code.Build - Finishing Firebase Course
  • Newsletter - Subscribe for more Svelte 5 and Firebase tips!

Top comments (0)