DEV Community

Cover image for My first tech blogπŸ˜…
JJ_Juarez
JJ_Juarez

Posted on

My first tech blogπŸ˜…

Hello World!

I know, real original πŸ™„, but I had to as this is my inaugural post on Dev.to! I've been toying with the idea of writing a blog for some time now, and figured since I'm starting a new project, this is the best time for it. I've been somewhat familiar with React.js for a while now and wanted to make the jump over to React Native to capitalize on an idea I've had for a few years. I'll be blogging about the progress on my app and figured this is the best spot for it.

About me

I've been primarily a back-end dev for the past 6 years or so, and took a non-traditional route to get here. I have limited experience with the front end in prod and thus push myself to build in it when I can. I am by no means a designer, but I make do! You can check out my website here to see what I mean 😁.

React Native

React Native has definitely been fun to learn, and as always with technology, a pain in the a** sometimes. However, being familiar with React beforehand definitely helped A LOT! I really enjoy the Expo app that helps lay a solid foundation in seeing your idea come to life. I've recently gotten into dealing with the dev client side of Expo and that was initially a little challenging as it added a few extra steps to my development.

The appπŸ‘€

While the idea for my app isn't necessarily groundbreaking, I'm holding off on revealing what it is until it is further along in development. Luckily, that shouldn't be too much longer.

I was able to repurpose a backend service I previously created to suit my needs, and have the most of the functionality completed.

I'm currently working on adding monetization(ads), and will be testing the end to end functionality soon (hopefully).

I'm a little unsure of how exactly I'm going to structure these blogs, so stay tuned. Maybe the structure will just be the friends we made along the way πŸ˜„.

Until next time ✌🏽

Top comments (0)