DEV Community

Cover image for Increasing the productivity with the same theme for Visual Studio 2022, Visual Studio Code and Rider
Emanuele Bartolesi
Emanuele Bartolesi

Posted on

Increasing the productivity with the same theme for Visual Studio 2022, Visual Studio Code and Rider

During my daily work I use, mainly, Visual Studio 2022.
Since September 2021, Visual Studio has a good support for themes: read the announcement

However, it happens that I also have to work on frontend projects or some scripts for some of my colleagues.

For this reason I use Visual Studio Code for few hours each day.

But that's not all.

Basically I am a Full Stack Web Developer and some years ago I
have found a good way to be more productive usin JetBrains Rider.
Why?
Because in the same IDE I have the power of a good engine refactory and intellisense and the power of good environment to write and debug code for Frontend (in my case React & TypeScript).

Before this way of work, I use Visual Studio and Visual Studio Code open on the same PC, but you waste a lot of time to switch from one project to another.

But with three IDE, I have found a new problem.
Each IDE has different fonts, colors and other UI stuff.
After a while I felt tired and my brain took a while to understand what environment I was in.

Finally I found the solution and it's called One Dark Pro.

Image description

I use the same theme for all IDEs on my machine and the same font as well (Cascadia Code).

You can find the Visual Studio theme here: One Dark Pro
Visual Studio Code theme: One Dark Pro
Rider theme: One Dark Pro


In the image above you can see a preview of my three IDEs side by side.
It looks like we're inside the same application.

Top comments (0)