DEV Community

Cover image for Stuck at home, corona? Spend your time learning for free (15,000+ hours content).
Kedar Kodgire
Kedar Kodgire

Posted on

Stuck at home, corona? Spend your time learning for free (15,000+ hours content).

This list will take you to almost 15,000+ hours of learning content.

It's been 4 years since I started learning to code and during this time I have accumulated a huge number of resources with intensive research which have helped me all along the way - till landing my first job and further. I am sharing these with you all because I want everybody to learn for free especially when they don't have too much money to spend on learning. And of course, you can contribute back to these communities when you start earning or in some other way.

Do you need money to learn?
No way! You just need to have a phone or a computer with internet access which I believe almost everyone has it – and a calm place to sit – you're all set.

All you need is time. And with this Coronavirus situation around, you've probably got more time than ever. Let's have a look at the free courses now.


GUVI

Alt Text

I had to mention this platform first as they are providing their courses for free especially because of COVID19. The Corona Virus has impacted human life harshly. And all the schools and colleges and this can affect their learning.


Free Code Camp

Alt Text

One of the best places to learn web development along with certifications. I started my journey with this platform and have a job now! The certifications and knowledge received from this platform were very helpful for me.

You can also check their video courses on Youtube 700+ videos. They have a huge amount of content that are technology-specific and with no-ads, basically from zero to hero. One of my favorites is this 14 hours python course


Udacity nanodegree content

Alt Text

Yes, you heard me right "Udacity nanodegree content for free".

Udacity offers some great content in their Nanodegree programs. If you don't have the money, and/or just don't want to pay for them, you can take many of the courses for free.

While it's no substitute for the actual Nanodegree programs (which include project reviews, additional student and career guidance, and a job guarantee) there is some great content available for learning.


Project Based Learning

Alt Text

Project-based Learning is amazing. Yow will get a huge amount of satisfaction when you build something new while learning. This repository has all the links for courses where you build certain projects based on your favorite technology.


450 Ivy League free courses

The list has courses based on these domains

Alt Text

The eight Ivy League schools are among the most prestigious colleges in the world. They include Brown, Harvard, Cornell, Princeton, Dartmouth, Yale, and Columbia Universities, and the University of Pennsylvania.

These Ivy League schools are also highly selective and extremely hard to get into. But the good news is that all these universities now offer free online courses across multiple online platforms. These courses are known as MOOCs or Massive Open Online Courses.

I insist you check it out once it's a great list by Dhawal Shah.


Data Science Specific

If you are looking at something very specific for data science here is the place


Other Platforms

I hope this helps all of you to grow every day no matter what. If you want to appreciate this you can leave a like below and share it with other people whore are in need of these resources. You can also follow me on twitter, I even post content there sometimes.

And don't forget to comment If you know some other free resources.

Happy Learning!


Other reads

Here are a few of my other posts which may be helpful to you.


If my posts or resources I share has helped you in some way, please consider buying me a coffee. It will help me pay my rent and also encourage me to share amazing and useful stuff with you all.

Top comments (0)