DEV Community

Kervyn
Kervyn

Posted on

Temporary hiatus from the 30-day learning challenge

While it is important to be consistent, sometimes, we must remember to acknowledge our limitations and as such, I'll be temporarily taking a hiatus from the 30-day straight learning challenge!

That's not to say that I won't still be continuing to learn something new each day, but what this challenge has taught me so far, is that learning something every single day, makes learning feel very diluted. Let me explain.

From what used to be learning for the fun of it, slowly became something too intense, and tough to balance amidst my busy schedule. I've taken a step back and understood from this challenge that learning something everyday is possible, but learning something in detail, in-depth is extremely tough and infeasible!

To learn something deeply, we should spend more than just a day on it, and when we touch and go on topics that we find interesting, we might feel like a lot of things are piled up at once and slowly, we might experience the exact opposite - feeling tired and drained from pursuing what we wished to learn!

In short, I'm taking a break from this 30-day straight of documenting my learning. I'm still reading the awesome books I introduced, still learning so much about code and how to be a better software engineer every single day, but documenting everyday for you, the readers, is not an easy task. I'd much rather put out a solid, well-written article on what my consolidated learnings over each month, than force myself to produce an article just for the sake of it! In fact, that is something I'm considering doing, so stay tuned for more stories and have a great day ahead!

Thanks again for stopping by my personal page!

Top comments (0)