DEV Community

Koire
Koire

Posted on

Tired of code tests

This is my first post on Dev.to, I haven't been able to tie my coding work with my professional work, I've worked at a big telecom company in Japan for 10 years, so they own all of my code.

You'd think, having a title like "Tech Lead" or "Engineering lead" and making presentations, mentoring new employees who just joined with almost no knowledge would weigh in when looking for new jobs.

I always feel an like imposter everyday, but just this week, we ran into a problem that seriously last year me made a backup, made a policy and documented it.

So, I don't know where I'm going with this, I have a new boss who only cares how many commits or pull requests, or code reviews I have. So, I want to change my job. But so many companies want to see if I can balance a btree(isn't that solved already?)

And, I can't share my source code over the years, which is just basically cutting me off.

Sorry My first and maybe only post here is ending sad and negative.

This industry, we work to solve problems but don't usually have a way to carry the proof we did anything, and then we're tested with random questions that almost never have any relation to our work.

sorry, not sorry, things need to change. (but I'm going to leetcode right now for an interview)

Top comments (0)