DEV Community

Cover image for Creating My First Azure Virtual Machine
LATEEF
LATEEF

Posted on

Creating My First Azure Virtual Machine

I'm thrilled to share the process by which i created my first Azure Virtual Machine.
Azure Virtual Machines (VMs) are pre-configured operating system environments hosted within the Microsoft Azure cloud. They provide a way to easily deploy and manage computing resources, such as applications and services, in the cloud.

Below are the step-by-step procedure I followed in creating Azure Virtual Machine

On the Microsoft Azure dashboard, you I searched for Virtual Machine on the search box by clicking on the section highlighted with a red square and click on create as the arrow pointed.
Image description
After I clicked on create link, I was directed to another page where where I can customize the virtual machine according to requirements.

Image description
I'm using a Virtual Machine with one month free access. So, There is no need for subscription
I created name for the resource group where similar items would be kept

Image description
Space for the Virtual Machine name, its host region, Availability zone, are to be filled as required.

Image description
Image is regarded as Operating system in Virtual Machine. You are required to select which operating system you proffered.

Image description
Administrator Account: Just as it is in your local computer, you are expected to create Personal Username and Password for your Virtual Machine for accessibility

Image description
Inbound Port
Choose Public inbound ports

Image description
Thick and Accept the Licensing option box

Image description
Click on Review and Create tab for validation

Image description
Click on Create tab at the left bottom side of the screen to redeploy
Image description
After the process of redeployment completed, click on Go To Source tab
Image description
Navigate to the IP address to increase the default time limit

Image description
Please click on the connect button to configure features for your virtual machine on Azure.

Image description
The next page will show you a tab to select ** and **download RDP file. kindly click on **select **to configure, wait till it configured. then Download RDP file

Image description
After the RDP file downloaded. Launch the downloaded file and login with your credentials/details to your Virtual Machine

Image description
Below is a screenshot of my Virtual Machine

Image description
Trust you are able to follow my easy steps of Creating Virtual Machine with fun. Thank you

Top comments (0)