DEV Community

Renata Maçãs
Renata Maçãs

Posted on

Computer Science Communities - Django Girls

In this text, I would like to share my trajectory and involvement with the programming/computer science communities, and in particular, my learning experience with the Python programming language and Django framework, and how this knowledge and participation in events were essential in my professional and personal growth. Furthermore, I will explain why I have decided to deepen my knowledge in Python in the field of Data Science, which I plan to share in this blog and other networks.

During my graduation in Systems Analysis and Development at IFRS, I had minimal contact with the Python programming language until 2017, when I learned about an event that would take place in Porto Alegre - RS/Brazil called Django Girls. It was at this event that I learned about the possibilities of using this programming language in various business and science fields, such as building my first blog from scratch for free. I also had the pleasure of meeting incredible people who participated in the event and who helped me expand my perspectives on computer science, the job market, and different ways of learning programming.

Since then, my involvement with the Python community has grown, and I have learned how the programming learning process could be different, more didactic, and promote other ways of teaching/learning algorithms and data structures, which is the basis of programming. I have met excellent teachers, developers, and professionals who have shared their knowledge and helped me understand that computer science is not only for white cisgender men.

In 2018, I had the opportunity to participate in four Django Girls events in various cities in the state of RS, and in each presentation, I learned more about how programming did not need to be taught the way it was in graduation. The most important thing I learned was that people are greater than technology, even in times of AI (Artificial Intelligence) with ChatGPT.

During the same year, I was in my last semester of graduation at IFRS and needed to present my final project in the field of Data Science using Python, Pandas, and Spark. However, it was also the year when I had my first opportunity as a software developer/junior - CLT, which was the type of work experience I urgently needed to add to my professional journey. Unfortunately, I couldn't handle everything at that time, and my final project is still halfway done, but that's okay.

In my professional experience entering the Information Technology job market, my first contact was in web development, focused on e-commerce business. During this period, I learned a new programming language, JavaScript, and realized that in this business area, and even now, the high demand for web development professionals continues to grow, especially in this accelerated period of Digital Transformation. My perspective was to acquire more experience in end-to-end web development, really understand how the whole system worked, so I worked in various branches of this business sector, such as storefront, platform, and payments, usually acting on both the back-end and front-end. I also tried to learn and understand more about cloud servers. However, it was important to understand how to add value to your work in the business, and that's where the community was extremely important from my point of view.

So, in 2019 I decided to participate in the organization of Django Girls in the city of Porto Alegre, together with other amazing people, and it was another experience within the community where I realized how important this type of initiative is to demystify and deconstruct some concepts and standards, and learn about their value in the business world. In this particular event, we had the opportunity to advertise in various media outlets, from newspapers, radio, and open TV channels, as well as being held in a large environment with great support to allow inclusive learning, connection with other people, companies, job opportunities, Kids' space, and a lot of knowledge exchange with expert mentors (wonderful professionals) who were there during the event. Moments that certainly impacted hundreds of people who were involved, directly or indirectly, so that all of this could happen in the best possible way to achieve the purpose of the event, as well as broaden people's perspectives on the field of Computer Science.

During this period, me and other people had many ideas to develop in the following year, but with the pandemic in 2020 and the cessation of in-person events, distancing was inevitable. But other virtual initiatives were growing and showing that this new model would be the alternative that allowed communities to continue, reinvent themselves, and reach interested people. And after 3 years, and analyzing this entire period, all of this has shown how powerful the force of Computing communities is, these organizations continue to strengthen diversity inclusion, and I am very proud to have been part of a piece of this construction.

Currently, we have several communities with specific cuts of minorities and increasingly involved in their purpose, and doing an excellent job of inclusion and creating in-person and virtual welcoming and empowering environments. There is also much more free material available on various platforms, from how to start in the computer science field to free certificates to specialize in one of the sectors, such as Web Development, Data Science, Machine Learning, AI, etc...

However, in this text, my intention was to show a little about the importance of involvement in communities that are aligned with your purpose, both in your professional and personal career, and how much value it adds to this journey. At the moment, I am involved in some communities like GirlsCode, WTD, and I am very happy to understand that, despite all the adversities that times may bring, strengthening as a group/organized people expands the perspective of a more inclusive and diverse future, whether in the field of Computer Science or any other.

:: Some links that I consider important from this journey:

Django Girls Tutorial (learn how to build a blog from scratch!):

https://tutorial.djangogirls.org/en/

Example project on Github for building a blog with Django and Python:

https://github.com/macasrenata/djangogirls

Python community website:

https://python.org.br/

Free course to learn Python with the excellent teacher Massanori:

https://www.pycursos.com.br/python-para-zumbis/ https://youtube.com/playlistlist=PLUukMN0DTKCtbzhbYe2jdF4cr8MOWClXc

Django Girls website:

https://djangogirls.org/

PyLadies website:

https://brasil.pyladies.com/

Photos from the Django Girls 2019 event in Porto Alegre - RS:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/djangogirls/albums/72157711458474326 https://www.instagram.com/djangogirlspoa/ https://twitter.com/djangogirlspoa https://djangogirls.org/pt-br/portoalegre/

Top comments (0)