DEV Community

Mary Beliveau
Mary Beliveau

Posted on

Nevertheless, Mary Coded

Six months ago, I left an amazing job and all of my savings behind to begin a full stack web development bootcamp. Every Friday of the bootcamp, each cohort sat in a circle and discussed how they were feeling during "Feelings Friday." During my first Feelings Friday, when it was my turn to speak, I sobbed. While the predominantly male cohort watched me in bewilderment, I explained that my tears were of pride and joy for following my heart and gut that led me to the bootcamp, and fear that I would let them down.

The next four months were both life-changing and agonizing. I learned so much that I lost track of everything else. In one Feelings Friday, I remember saying I felt like I was running a marathon and a 400 meter dash at the same time. Imposter Syndrome enveloped me. I rarely saw my friends and family. But I was determined to cram as much learning into my four months as possible. Despite my fear of failure, I sat down and coded 10+ hours a day, six days a week.

On my graduation day, I got the flu. I think it was my body's way of telling me to stop looking at my computer and lie down. Afterwards I started applying for mission-driven roles as a Software Engineer. Two days ago, during international women's week, I got offered the job of my dreams on the most supportive team I have ever met. I start in two weeks.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Congratulations! That’s so exciting!