DEV Community

Mingming Ma
Mingming Ma

Posted on • Updated on

Adding new feature through small changes

This week, I made a PR for ChatCraft that allows users to generate images (by the DALL·E 3 model). Currently, the way to generate images is by using the 'image' command, for example: /image treasure map,

description

In contrast to my previous PR that introduced support for the vision model, this PR did not require significant changes. This allows us to steadily enhance it without causing many disruptions. And thanks to the valuable feedback, here are the following up PRs need to be submitted : such as changing the size of the generated image (issue#499), adding a loading info when generating images (issue#504), etc. I will write about some of the problems or thoughts they encountered in subsequent blog posts.

In general, this feeling is great. Small changes make the system more stable, and modifications based on review feedback are also easier, which benefits both. Moreover, I found that in this PR, despite being small changes, the reviewer proposed lots of suggestions or new ideas, This leaves lots of room for subsequent development work and allows for a greater sense of accomplishment. Therefore, I say this feeling is great.

Currently, this feature relies on command-based interaction, but most users may not use this type of interaction. One of the challenges for the future is how to make users know this feature. As I ponder over this challenge, I eagerly anticipate sharing my thoughts and progress with you in the next blog post. Stay tuned!

Top comments (0)