DEV Community

Ryan Collins
Ryan Collins

Posted on • Originally published at gozgeek.com on

🖥 Session aliases with tmux

I use tmux as my screen multiplexer, and in the past, I used control-A d to disconnect and tmux a -d to reattach to the session. This gets cumbersome if I haven’t created a tmux session yet, since tmux a -d will give me an error that no session exists.

Aliases to the rescue

To help start sessions, and now name them, I use the following alias:

alias tma="tmux new -ADs"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

To create a session named main or re-attach to a disconnected session, I can now type tma main. The alias will create a session named main if one doesn’t exist, or reconnect to the session named main. This also makes it easy to create named tmux sessions without having to remember the syntax.

Top comments (0)