DEV Community

Cover image for How I boosted my Google impressions from 2 to 200 in a month with a simple SEO tweak šŸš€
Nicolas Menicou
Nicolas Menicou

Posted on

How I boosted my Google impressions from 2 to 200 in a month with a simple SEO tweak šŸš€

Hey everyone! I wanted to share a fun story about how I managed to grow my website, Mirmigki, from a measly 1-2 Google impressions to around 200 impressions in just a month. And no, I didnā€™t hire an army of SEO experts or spend crazy money on ads. I built a simple tool and made some smart changes! šŸš€

Mirmigki Impressions from Google Search Console

Now, if you look at the graph, you'll see a span of three months, but hereā€™s the catchā€”I didnā€™t really care about SEO until about a month ago. The first two months were basically me throwing the website out into the wild and hoping something would stick. Then, about a month ago, I decided to roll up my sleeves and focus on improving my SEO game, and that's why I'm calling this a "month of growth."

The humble beginnings: from barely there to... well, still small, but better!

When I first launched Mirmigki, which is a job board for Cyprus and Greece, I was getting basically no impressions. Google acted like I didnā€™t exist, which wasnā€™t exactly a confidence boost. But rather than sit around waiting for miracles, I got to work.

Step 1: Building something people actually need

I knew that if I wanted more traffic, I had to create something usefulā€”something that people were actually searching for. So, I built a tax calculator for Cyprus. Itā€™s a tool that many people in these countries genuinely need, and that made it easier to start driving traffic.

But letā€™s be realā€”just building a tool isnā€™t enough. I needed to make sure people could find it. Thatā€™s where SEO came into play.

Step 2: Swapping the slogan for a keyword (yeah, it hurt a little)

Hereā€™s where things got interesting. My main keyword target is ā€œjobs in Cyprus,ā€ but guess what? Iā€™m still not ranking for it! And honestly, itā€™s my own fault at first. I had something vague and catchy as my H1 headerā€”it was something like ā€œJobs Made Simple.ā€ Yeah, itā€™s a nice slogan and all, but Google doesnā€™t care about slogans when youā€™re not an established brand.

So, I swallowed my pride and changed my H1 to ā€œJobs in Cyprusā€. Why? Because thatā€™s what people are actually searching for. Once Iā€™m more established and people are coming to my site naturally, I can slap any slogan I want as my H1. But for now, Iā€™m playing the keyword game.

Step 3: Keywords FTW šŸ—ļø

Speaking of keywords, once I created the tax calculator, I made sure to optimize the page with relevant phrases. I researched what people were searching for, like ā€œCyprus tax calculator" and made sure those terms were strategically placed throughout the page.

That alone helped boost my impressions, and I started seeing more people visiting my site through search engines. Small wins, right?

Step 4: Backlinks: The real power move šŸ”—

Now, hereā€™s where the magic really happened. Even though I wasnā€™t ranking for my main keyword, some webmasters reached out to feature my website. Not specifically for the tax tool, but for Mirmigki as a whole. Getting these backlinks helped boost my siteā€™s authority and visibility even more.

And, of course, I wasnā€™t just sitting around waiting for people to contact me. I reached out to webmasters myself, too, offering interviews or suggesting collaborations.

The SEO long game šŸŽÆ

Hereā€™s the truth: SEO is a long-term game. Yes, you can make some quick wins with tools and keyword tweaks, but if you really want to see big results, youā€™ve got to keep at it. That means continuously writing useful articles and building relationships to get backlinks.

My siteā€™s impressions went from 2 to 200, which is great, but I know thatā€™s just the beginning. The goal is to keep growing by balancing good content and solid backlinks over time.

TL;DR šŸœ

  • Built a tax calculator tool that people were searching for.
  • Changed my H1 from a slogan to my main keyword, ā€œJobs in Cyprus,ā€ to rank for what people actually search for.
  • Used the right keywords on my pages to boost traffic.
  • Got backlinks by reaching out to webmasters and participating in interviews.
  • SEO is a long-term gameā€”the secret is combining useful content with quality backlinks.

So, thatā€™s how I went from practically invisible on Google to making a small dent in the SEO universe. If youā€™re struggling with impressions, focus on building something useful, targeting the right keywords, and hustling for those backlinks.

Feel free to check out Mirmigki to see my tax calculator and job board in action. And remember, when it comes to SEO, patience is key!

Top comments (0)