DEV Community

ohffs
ohffs

Posted on

Local slang or words in code

I was looking back on a bit of Python code I wrote a year or two ago for a nanotechnology facility and remembered that as part of their process they move the 'device' back and forth a few nanometers before finalising their settings. I coded the function that did it as 'shoogle'.

(ˈʃʊɡəl ) or shoogie (ˈʃʊɡiː) dialect, mainly Scottish
verb

  1. to shake, sway, or rock back and forth noun
  2. a rocking motion; shake

I still feel absurdly pleased with myself that some £50m nanotech plant is 'shoogling' every few hours.

I got to wondering - what words have you snuck into code that you are secretly pleased with?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
molly profile image
Molly Struve (she/her)

I wrote an entire spec class using the names from all the Marvel heroes. I guess I didn't really sneak it in bc in the PR review everyone LOVED it. Any new devs that handle that code now always ask, who named all these variables?! That was ME! 😃

PS you might want to add a #discuss tag to this post to help get more eyes on it with responses

Collapse
 
ohffs profile image
ohffs

That's great :-) We do that kind of thing with server names - you can trace a history of what bands, books, TV shows etc people have been into down the years by little flurries of DNS entries :-)

I'll add the discuss tag - thanks for the pointer! :-)