DEV Community

Panda Quests
Panda Quests

Posted on • Updated on

Senior Devs: What Git commands have you learned AFTER you become senior developer?

I'm only interested in highly advanced Git command that only senior developers know.

Edit:

For everyone who stumped in this question and is curious:
“Using Git commands that will make you look like a senior developer” by pandaquests https://link.medium.com/ICxc97pGrab

(Full disclosure: I'm the author)
But I'm looking for more Git commands that are less known and have been very helpful to you.

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
jessekphillips profile image
Jesse Phillips

My wife mentioned a good concept. The incorrect expectation of sequential learning. School tends to make us think that you learn X to progress to Y and then Z.

You are at X or Y and wanting to get to Z. But that isn't what we do out of the classroom.

Work on solving issues you have. Is there a task you do over and over again, ask the Google to find out if there is an easier way.

I think both vim and git benefit from this.

Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

I can't follow what you said and how it's related to my question. Sorry

Collapse
 
jessekphillips profile image
Jesse Phillips

You are asking for commands learned after becoming senior. This seems to assume seniors learn more advanced git skills.

But junior devs could be much more fluent with Git than their elders.

Thread Thread
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

Yeah, because they have been exposed to more problems

Thread Thread
 
jessekphillips profile image
Jesse Phillips
Collapse
 
jessekphillips profile image
Jesse Phillips

I'm senior Quality Assurance, does my knowledge not count?

I don't have a timeline for my knowledge progression, but I can say I did not know this one before my senior title:

git switch <branch name>
Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

I don't get the advantage of using git switch Vs. Git checkout?

Collapse
 
jessekphillips profile image
Jesse Phillips

It is just an improved UX. Those of us who grew up with 'checkout' don't really get to have benefits from switch. But that has not stopped me from embarrassing the change so others have an easier time learning git.

On that note, by default 'switch' must go to a local branch. You can't enter into a detached head by accident unless you always add '--detach' to the command. While git is pretty good about warning commits to a detached head, this is an important safety addition.

Collapse
 
hammertoe profile image
Matt Hamilton

All of them! :)

Collapse
 
pandaquests profile image
Panda Quests

Thanks