DEV Community

Cover image for Meet Auty, a bot designed to support and guide autistic individuals - on Coze
Paulo Henrique
Paulo Henrique

Posted on • Updated on

Meet Auty, a bot designed to support and guide autistic individuals - on Coze

This is a submission for the Coze AI Bot Challenge: Bot Innovator.

What I Built

Meet Auty, your new friend and personal helper! Auty is a friendly AI companion designed to support individuals in various ways. Feeling overwhelmed? Auty can offer calming techniques and activity suggestions. Need help practicing social interactions? Auty can simulate conversations to help you build confidence. Auty is also here to assist with communication by translating text to speech or offering picture cards. Let Auty be your partner on your journey!

Demo

Demo can be seen here

demo

Your Configuration

first prompt

long prompt is long

Journey

I'm in the process of diagnosis and self-discovery, being an adult who learned how to socially mask basically everything is kinda crazy, so I'm reading a lot and getting help from my therapist. I have thousands of different AI bot ideas in my mind, but when I saw what Coze offered, the first thing that popped into my mind was to create something helpful that had a meaning to what I went through during my adolescence and early adult life.

So Auty was born. A bot that is oriented to talk and help people in the spectrum, but not in a professional way, just as a cool friend. "Auty" came naturally: it's a gender-neutral name, catchy, relates to autism, and fulfills my life need of naming everything involving AI with a pun. (A_ut_I).

The avatar was a long trial and error with DiffusionBee, but in the end, I think it's perfect: calming, friendly, and approaching.

Coze is... honestly? Amazing. I had tested some bot creators before, but never like Coze. It's simple, user-friendly and direct. It's a little sad that some resources aren't available for public bots (like Knowledge Base) but it's easy to work around it. There are still a lot of things I want to do with Auty on Coze, especially how it talks, but I can fine-tune it over the weekend and next week with professional help from my therapist. For now, I hope that everyone likes the idea, and if in some way my idea offended someone, I'm truly sorry, just reach me so I can fix it

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I absolutely love it! This is really cool, Paulo, and just a really nice thought too.

There's this place called Camp Royall , that is apparently the US’s "oldest and largest camp for people with autism" and it's just around the corner from me. I used to work as a caregiver (and worked with an adult who had a severe case of autism — he was wonderful!) and I've been considering going to volunteer at Camp Royall in some form. Your post is a good reminder for me to do so! 🙌

Collapse
 
phalkmin profile image
Paulo Henrique

UPDATE: yesterday after getting some rest, I just noticed that I might have misunderstood what "Private" and "Public" meant during the publishing bot process. So now Auty has a larger knowledge base and better settings to deal with the user's answers and needs.

Image description

Collapse
 
zarazhangrui profile image
Zara Zhang

Thanks for sharing!!

Collapse
 
phalkmin profile image
Paulo Henrique

Update:

Auty is getting smarter and now can talk via telegram:

Auty Chatbot

I may start meddling with triggers soon, as well as adding more resources and info to the Knowledge Base

Collapse
 
devarshishimpi profile image
Devarshi Shimpi

This is amazing, Paulo!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.