DEV Community

Raffaele Pizzari
Raffaele Pizzari

Posted on

Don't make fun of JavaScript

Dont't make fun of JavaScript



Credits: illustration by unDraw

I need your help :)

I am working on a presentation that will be based on this repository: https://github.com/pixari/dmfojs

It would be great if you could help me/contribute/share/star/anything you want.

What is it?

JavaScript is a easy to learn and easy to use or at least we can all agree that has a attractive and gradual learning curve.
In fact, anyone can run its first "Hello World!" script in 1 minute just opening the browser's console and typing "console.log('Hello World!')".

This is one of the (many) reasons why it is one of the most widely used programming language supported by an extremely large community.

Despite those unquestionable greatest attribute, JavaScript has also a bad reputation: I heard it's the "worst language in the world", or "it's totally unreliable" and "it's just stupid interpreted language used to animate buttons".

I understand where all these concerns are coming from, but I'm truly convinced that JavaScript it's just the world's most misunderstood programming language.

That's why I decide to start collecting all the jokes, the critics and the misconceptions about JavaScript and try to
demystify most of them.

Feel free to contribute 🙏

https://github.com/pixari/dmfojs

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
defman profile image
Sergey Kislyakov

I've never understood people making fun of programming languages. All of them have both good and bad sides, I'd blame the developers for the shit-code, not the language.