DEV Community

Jamie Richardson
Jamie Richardson

Posted on

New Developers and Wireframing

As a new developer, the biggest help to me thus far in my coding journey has been understanding what wireframes are and how they work.

I have worked with the basics of HTML and CSS and have been working everyday to further my knowledge, including building static web pages. The problem I've been faced with is being unsure of what I wanted to build. After some research I've realized I need to understand WHAT I want the design of the page to be, which lead me to wireframing.

Using wireframes, even on just paper, has helped me to better understand what I want the page to look like and visualize how I want the content displayed. I've been able to use the HTML and CSS skills I've acquired and have been introduced to other languages like JavaScript and PHP.

I am aware jumping from language to language is not advised. My primary focus is still HTML and CSS and to continue understanding the display aspect of web development. However, I think it's good practice for new developers to understand how different languages work with each other and different elements behave.

For Example:

While writing out a wireframe, I realized I wanted a button click to display something on the page itself. So I started learning about event listeners. I realized the button click wasn't doing EXACTLY what I wanted and, after doing some research and watching some YouTube videos, I learned I needed to use the PHP echo function (construct? I'm not sure, I've seen different wordings) to ultimately have the webpage do what I wanted. Wireframing introduced me to a new JavaScript functionality and how PHP works with webpages, taking them from static to dynamic.

The basic takeaway from this is

  1. new developers should spend some time looking at wireframing to help with designing any webpage or app projects you want to build

And

  1. don't be afraid to look at other languages besides the one you are mainly focused on. Keep a main one in mind, but if you want to know how some sort of function works or something on the back end functions, don't be afraid to dive in and see! It will help with understanding development as a whole and open new chapters of learning.

Also, as a last side note, looking at other languages helps you also understand they really aren't SO different from each other, especially when you have a basic understanding of how the language works.

My question here is do any veteran developers recommend learning about wireframing in this stage or do you think there are other topics that should be covered before that? I'd love to hear some feedback!

Top comments (0)