DEV Community

Jamie Richardson
Jamie Richardson

Posted on

Here we go...

I decided to finally post something on here and figured, since I've been lurking around for a couple weeks, I'd introduce myself to everyone.

So...hi!

My name is Jamie and (I think) I found this wonderful place via Twitter, probably someone sharing a post or something, and I've been here ever since.

A little about me; I currently work at a call center for welfare and have no formal education in web development or design, so I've been teaching myself since the end of May. I actually started last year with Codecademy but wasn't fond of the teaching style and started focusing on music, putting coding on the back burner.

I'm going to be honest with you all I just learned, as in while proofreading this, Codecademy is written this way, NOT as CodeAcademy.

I've had a rough time for over a year now, and rediscovering coding has really helped me to get to a better place - a place where I'm happy and feel productive.

My ultimate goals are to become a front-end web developer and possibly a full stack developer and designer, so I don't have to work for "The Man". But honestly, if it gets me out of where I am right now, I'd be happy. I also want to eventually get into app development, mainly so I can create things that make MY life easier and hopefully someone else's along the way, and start a blog documenting my journey. I've wanted to start blogging and had some app ideas in the past couple years but I wasn't sure where to start. Now I know.

I feel like I've finally found a calling that suits me. I feel so comfortable in the coding community thus far and, as a naturally introverted person, both in real life and online, I'm incredibly excited to start contributing.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. Fee free to introduce yourself if you'd like! I'd love to connect with new people!

Top comments (0)