DEV Community

Ritik Bheda
Ritik Bheda

Posted on

console.log("Hello World! Open Source Development begins");

TD;LR

I am Ritik Bheda, a student interested to learning more about browser extensions and Open Source Development. So, I choose Redefined GitHub project to explore the area.

Introduction

Hello World, I am Ritik Bheda. My ethnicity is Indian, and I was born and bought up in India, later moved to Canada in 2019. I am currently in Brampton, Ontario. JavaScript and C++ are my favorite programming languages. One of them being new, easy, and ever booming and the other gives me the exact sense and logic behind writing code in any language brings my love to these programming languages. People I have met think of my personality as a person who tends to learn and explore new technology but never missing the base idea/motivation that brought it.

Open Source

I am very excited to study this course as it is going to be my first step in the Open Source Community where I always wanted to contribute to and be a small part of a big project. Open Source development also helps networking and sharing of ideas around the globe while Closed Source development is confined to a team and learning is limited to the team members. Open source development would give the overall development experience without any firm commitment. My main goal in this term is get a near industry experience. I think browser extensions have very bright potential in future and which is why I want to contribute to its Open Source and get experience in the field.

Project I want to contribute to

I was searching for a browser extension project on GitHub and I came across many but I choose Redefined GitHub. Redefined GitHub simplifies GitHub interface and adds useful feature(on the browser!!). Some of its features I find amazing are, it adds a button to revert the changes in a file in a PR, shows the associated pull requests on branches for forked repositories, adds a button to copy all the file contents and much more! The extension has developed quite enough and still has a lot of room to develop which attracts me to join the community and contribute to it. Working on this project will help me to get experience on browser extensions, git & GitHub and, how medium sized projects go large.

GitHub logo sindresorhus / refined-github

:octocat: Browser extension that simplifies the GitHub interface and adds useful features

Refined GitHub

Browser extension that simplifies the GitHub interface and adds useful features

We use GitHub a lot and notice many annoyances we'd like to fix. So here be dragons.

Our hope is that GitHub will notice and implement some of these much needed improvements. So if you like any of these improvements, please email GitHub support about doing it.

GitHub Enterprise is also supported: How to enable it.

The GITHUB and REFINED GITHUB trademarks are owned by GitHub, Inc. and used under license.

Install

Chrome also compatible with Edge Opera

Firefox

Safari

If you love Refined GitHub, consider sponsoring or hiring the maintainer @fregante


Lets Connect

and discuss ideas and tech! Find me online
*GitHub
*LinkedIn

Top comments (0)