DEV Community

Sherry Day
Sherry Day

Posted on

What are you most paranoid about as a developer?

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

Oooh to the choice of "paranoid". I'm reading this as Extreme, irrational distrust of others.

I distrust UI driven-development, as I've seen this create conditions for "dynamic" apps that don't flex.

My strong preference is to state changes of the data and walk through how this information moves through time.

Collapse
 
dinerdas profile image
Diner Das

For me it's getting out of touch with new things as I work in my domain of expertise. Big reason I hang around DEV.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I get sort of paranoid over how well to model a problem. Too much focus on getting the "modeling" right could result in severe over-analysis and the possibility that nothing is shipped. Too little focus could result in an uphill battle forever thereafter.

Collapse
 
warwait profile image
Parker Waiters
  • Deleting data
  • Leaking data
Collapse
 
neoprint3d profile image
Drew Ronsman

That my code isn't job worthy or worth sharing

Collapse
 
nickangtc profile image
Nick Ang

For me at the moment it's lost context. An example is someone who made a decision to write code a certain way, or introduce a conditional statement, or something like that that is hard to figure out afterwards if undocumented either as a code comment or elsewhere

Collapse
 
zizaco profile image
Zizaco

+1.
People misinterpret clean-code and think all comments are bad.

Comments that tell "why" are almost always helpful!

Collapse
 
aarone4 profile image
Aaron Reese

Infinite loops.

Collapse
 
zakwillis profile image
zakwillis

Projects with too much money. They never deliver value. You join them, everybody is best pals on good rates - then, when the crunch happens, the team moves into self-preservation mode.

Collapse
 
taufik_nurrohman profile image
Taufik Nurrohman

Phone and video call.

Collapse
 
jaecktec profile image
Constantin

Supply chain attacks

Collapse
 
tinkermakar profile image
Makar

Having uncommitted code for 2 days or more