DEV Community

Phillip Shim
Phillip Shim

Posted on • Updated on

What is one VSCode extension you can't live without and why?

I just started my new job not too long ago as a full stack developer. Wanted to get your inputs!

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
bgdesigns profile image
Bryan George • Edited

Git Graph - Something about being able to see branches helps me out

Image Preview - Easy way to see the image you are linking too

Turbo Console log - This is such an easy way to use log as a debugger

Todo Tree - This is nice if you create lots of TODOS - has all of them in one spot

Collapse
 
shimphillip profile image
Phillip Shim

I haven't heard any of them. I will definitely check them out!

Collapse
 
andrewleonard1693 profile image
andrewleonard1693

SSH FS for being able to mount directories on a remote machine and being able to edit remote files within VS Code. Absolute life saver

Also not a vs code extension but I’ve just recently added GitKraken to my workflow and it is absolutely one of my favorite tools.

Collapse
 
shimphillip profile image
Phillip Shim

SSH FS sounds like a really handy tool. Thanks for sharing!

Collapse
 
bricegovin profile image
Brice Govin
  • GitLens: amazing for all git related actions
  • Code Spell Checker: helps avoiding misspells :)
  • Path Intellisense: filenames autocompletion
Collapse
 
shimphillip profile image
Phillip Shim

Great suggestions, I will check them out :)

Collapse
 
senpl profile image
Michał Urbanek

VSC Todo with keyboard shortcuts to them is my project todo holder.

Collapse
 
mandaputtra profile image
Manda Putra • Edited

Bracket Pair Colorizer
Path Intellisense

gist.github.com/mandaputtra/7272ae...

Collapse
 
shimphillip profile image
Phillip Shim

My favorite ones as well!

Collapse
 
aliahmadcse profile image
Ali Ahmad

There are a lot of such extensions. But if I tell you about the one, then that would be prettier, the one which helps me format my code when I save my file.

Collapse
 
playwright2poli profile image
playwrightpo

Lint and format code automatically - prettier-vscode for js, vscode-ruby-rubocop - for ruby
Get answer and code snippets to some programming questions - vscode-snippet

Collapse
 
painotpi profile image
Tarun Pai

Have a couple I can think of at the top of my head

1) GitLens - It's an amazingly well built and extremely helpful.

2) DocumentThis - Gives a super nice comment format for documenting code.

Collapse
 
shimphillip profile image
Phillip Shim

Thanks for sharing! I will definitely checkout out DocumentThis.