DEV Community

Shraddha
Shraddha

Posted on

SpendWise - Budget management app (Ruby on Rails + React) - Part 2

One of the first steps is setting up a clear structure for the application’s data flow. That’s where an ERD (Entity Relationship Diagram) comes in handy. It’s an essential tool to map out how different entities (like users, transactions, budgets, etc.) will interact within the app.

What’s an ERD and Why It’s Important?
For those unfamiliar, an ERD is a visual representation of how entities within a system relate to each other. It outlines the relationships between the various models (tables in the database), helping to visualize data flow and potential connections.

In my case, the ERD will serve as a guide for defining my app’s database structure and understanding the relationships between users, budgets, transactions, and more. This upfront planning ensures a smoother coding process when building the Rails models and setting up the React components.

The Core Entities in My App
Here’s a sneak peek at the main entities and relationships I’m planning for:

User: The core entity that will be linked to multiple budgets and transactions.
Budgets: Users can create multiple budgets, each with a unique name and set of financial goals.
Transactions: Each budget will track income and expenses, allowing users to manage and categorize their spending.
Categories: Budgets and transactions will be grouped into categories for better organization and insights.

Diagramming the Relationships
Here’s the breakdown of the relationships I’m considering:

  • A User can have multiple Budgets (one-to-many relationship).
  • A Budget can have multiple Transactions (one-to-many relationship).
  • Transactions will belong to both a Budget and a Category (many-to-one relationship).

SpendWise ERD

To visually map out this ERD, I’m using a really cool tool called dbdiagram.io. It’s simple to use, and it provides a clear, interactive display of your database structure. If you're working on a similar project, I highly recommend checking it out—you can find other tools like -

What’s Next?
Now that I’ve mapped out the ERD, I’m ready to dive into coding the database models and associations in Rails. In my next post, I’ll cover how I’m setting up validations, implementing user authentication, and more.

Stay tuned for more updates as I continue to build out this project!

Top comments (0)