DEV Community

Cover image for My Experience with HacktoberFest 2020
skidee
skidee

Posted on

My Experience with HacktoberFest 2020

🌴 About me

Hi I'm Harshit, a self learning computer science beginner who likes creating stuff. 🐢
I joined this beautiful Dev community, It is filled with awesome resources and people who write articles and I also want to share my experiences, cool resources and solutions of some problems.

📜 Background

I'm new to this open source community, have been working on some opensource projects since july 2020 :)

🐇 Progress

My brother advised me to start learning about open source contribution and he was the person who shared me this awesome HacktoberFest opportunity...and i actually learned a lot about open source stuff and also completed the hacktoberfest.

✨ Contributions

since I'm a beginner I started with some basics (beginner friendly repos)...here is the list of contributions I have made :

1. cloud haiku :

This repository is made by digital ocean organisation where you have to write a unique haiku by yourself.

2. First bit :

First-Bit is also a beginner friendly repo which teaches you the fork -> clone -> edit -> PR workflow.

3. code for cause :

Another beginner friendly repo to take pledge to code for cause.

4. First Contributions :

A repo with basic tutorial on how to get started with opensource contribution.

🎀 Reflections

Overall the experience was nice and exciting. This was my first time participating in hacktoberfest, It helped me a lot in expanding my knowledge about opensource. I'll participate again next year and will try to do some more high quality contributions.

Top comments (0)