DEV Community

Skybot
Skybot

Posted on

How I invented and created large scale AI 3d printer Skybot

Hello everyone..! My name is Dan. Today I want to describe the history of creating large scale AI 3d Printer Skybot with dimensions of the printer 1000*1000*1000. In 19/05/2023 I started to visit different events in Bay Area CA. I already had a portable generator which I created at home. I was trying to bring that generator everywhere on each event, but people didnโ€™t understand it. Even 1 time the police barely arrested me in Sunnyvale, CA for that , they thought it was a bomb which I brought to the mosque ๐Ÿ˜€. I explained that I am an engineer who worked before for Hewlett Packard. And I lost my job because the economy went down.

In one of the pitching events I met a guy with the name Ilde(later became my friend), who told me that I need to go to the Hacker Place in Bay Area. After that I went to the Hacker Place. Over There I did pitch and I met a lot of people. I got membership. But the project didn't go well and I decided to convert that project to an EV portable charger for electric cars with principle drive and charge. After a couple months the project was ready. To test the device I went to the Tesla changing station. I met a couple people and they became my test clients. After a couple talks and tests I offered full installation with a solar panel on the roof. Unfortunately they rejected my offer, they told, that they were afraid to lose the Tesla warranty. After a lot of thought I decided to temporarily stop this project.

Next couple months I worked on a new Drone engine research. When I created an engine. I realized that I needed a big 3D printer to print my drone. That's how the idea came , and I started working on a large scale 3d printer, Skybot. Approximately in September 2023 I started to design Skybot in CAD software. Working on a project, day, night became my flow without stopping. It took me a month. I thought while everybody was sleeping I would accomplish a lot of work, that is how real entrepreneurs think. For the next pitch event at the Hacker Place I announced that I invented the 3D metal printer Skybot. I builded metal kit for the printer. After that I decided to put it aside temporarily and launch it with polymers and composites, because I had only a small office space. Oh, after my pitch 1 guy told me: Do you want to work for Big company with name ..? I was really mad. That was huge offer. I really overworked and by mistake I rejected the offer ๐Ÿ™‚; But my journey continued with the 3d Printer project. I really believe in it. During the next 7 months I was working on 3d printer parts, improving and assembling them. Ok In February 2024 I tested the printer, but Motors weren't strong enough and I had a lot of friction. Also during that 7 months I submitted a provisional patent to protect from copycats ๐Ÿ™‚. The issue with them is that they can copycat an idea and they think they can do it. But result and hard work is a truth of success!. Nothing is easy. Ok finally I improved the design and motors. Also I decided if they can copycat any hardware I can protect it with firmware ๐Ÿคฃ. After I spent approximately 2 weeks on firmware and after long hours of testing Skybot was ready to print the first model. For the first model I designed a sign for one coworking place which is really โ€œLarge Gates in Japan for the pitch. Viola I did it! I created a new industrial 3D printer in the world. Now let me describe the key moments in my journey. You have to work everyday on your idea. You were born and you have something from the Universe. You have to believe in it every single day and just work without thinking. Just think sometimes but not too much. And say I am going to do it that is, and thanks youtubers for the motivation videos and truth! Do prototyping of whatever you need. But the story not ended when last time I pitched at hacker place, nobody already thought that itโ€™s new, and decided to implement Artificial Intelligence, but not just chat gpt, I thought itโ€™s too simple, I implemented strong GPU computation algorithm which allow create 3d model from text based on description which user provided. Next time approximately 2 months later in April 2024 I pitched again and the pitch event went very well by the way, thanks Spencer(friend who is working on quantum computer) for support.

Link for Video demonstration on youtube of the printer you can find here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9nwSgx1-wlQ
Link If you want to connect with me https://www.linkedin.com/in/dulat-a-265094142/;
Image description

Top comments (0)