DEV Community

Cover image for Hobby vs Career: The Unseen Challenges of Becoming a Full-Time Game Developer
Soulis
Soulis

Posted on

Hobby vs Career: The Unseen Challenges of Becoming a Full-Time Game Developer

When I was 22 years old, I started learning about Game Development.

At first, I thought making games would be easy, but I quickly realized how wrong I was.

Honestly, the whole thing was really challenging — mentally and emotionally. First I learned basic programming topics, 2D Art, and Unity (way before the dark times).

Sadly after a few tries I quit for months because, like most women in their 30s, I hit the wall and went back to keep playing games instead.

2 years later, I just finished university — one of the best and most amazing periods of my life. But the journey was tough.

If you enjoyed this and want more, follow me on Twitter for updates! You can also subscribe to my newsletter for exclusive content. Your support keeps the creativity flowing! 😊

As a full-time Web engineer since 2021, I have always loved creating and building games with new amazing effects and stories. With every game finished, there always was a deep sense of satisfaction that came from seeing these projects completed and sharing them with others. But like any career, there are aspects I enjoy less. One day I decided to treat my hobby as a full-time job, after a month, I quickly learned that there’s a massive difference between a hobby and a professional way.

For example, there’s a lot of pressure from a business perspective like the stress of launching a game in time, the necessity to generate revenue, and marketing-can make full-time game development feel overwhelming.

Lesson 1: The Pressure of Full-time Game Development
One of the significant downsides of doing game development professionally is the stress.

On one hand, the game has to make money, as it’s the primary way to pay your bills. For instance, I’ve been working on a more modern space invaders clone for a friend as a challenge, a game that has been developing for almost a year. The longer development cycle has added pressure, as the game’s success will directly impact my livelihood.

Each day of development carries the weight of financial consequences, which can create immense stress.

By the order, when I work on a project as a hobby, the story is widely different. I can relax, knowing that there is no financial obligation tied to its success. There’s no rush, no pressure from clients or publishers, and no need to turn in daily progress.

If I don’t feel like I need to be working on it one day, I can simply enjoy more flexibility and leave it for another time without any serious consequences.

Lesson 2: Flexibility and Time Management
Full-time game development requires great discipline and good time management skills.

Each day you must be productive because wasted time equals wasted money and without money, you can’t live. On the other hand, when game development is a hobby, there is much more freedom and flexibility. I usually work on the weekends with my hobby game on a lazy Sunday afternoon or after dinner while watching YouTube.

The work is done in short, unfocused bursts, without the pressure of a deadline looming over my head-its very, very relaxing.

This chill approach allows me to be less strict with myself and enjoy the process a little bit more.

When working on the Space Invaders Clone, I have to be highly focused. However, with my hobby project, I can pick it up whenever inspiration strikes without feeling guilty about taking breaks.

It’s a good strategy to freely experiment with small and new ideas without much trouble.

Lesson 3: Small, Bite-sized Tasks
Another key difference is the way tasks should be approached.

For my hobby game, I work on small, manageable features that can be completed in a reasonable amount of time. This allows me to feel a sense of accomplishment without dedicating days or even weeks. On the contrary, full-time projects require working on larger, more complex systems that often take a lot of time to complete.

With hobby development, I can focus on small upgrades, enjoy the process, and still feel like I’m moving forward without burnout by trying to make everything perfect.

Lesson 4: The Reality of Perfectionism and Burnout
One of the biggest challenges in full-time game development is battling perfectionism.

When your livelihood depends on a project, the pressure to make every feature flawless can lead to overworking and eventual burnout. Unlike hobby projects, where you can afford to relax and experiment, professional game development often demands perfection — at least, that’s the perception.

I used to obsess over every small detail, tweaking my code and designs endlessly, trying to ensure everything was perfect. But over time, I learned that “perfect” is often the enemy of “good enough.” It’s essential to strike a balance between quality and progress, especially when deadlines loom.

Without proper balance, you can end up focusing too much on minor improvements that can stop progress, increase stress, and even lead to burnout.

Lesson 5: Balancing Both Worlds
While I love making games, there’s a lot to be said for keeping it as a hobby.

If you are thinking of making the jump to full-time, get yourself ready for the business pressures and financial responsibilities that come with it. However, if you love game development purely for the craft, keeping it as a hobby might offer you more joy and less stress.

A good balance that in the future might turn into opportunities to go full time.

In the end, the decision depends on what’re your goals.

Do you want to create games for fun? A
Are you ready to face the challenges of making a living from it?
Either way, game development is an incredibly fulfilling pursuit, whether it’s a full-time job or just a hobby.

What are your thoughts?

Do you develop games as a hobby, or have you turned it into your career? Share your experiences in the comments!

If you enjoy my content and want to support my work, consider leaving a tip! Your generosity helps me keep creating high-quality articles, and I truly appreciate it. Thank you for being part of the journey!

You might also like:

Top comments (0)