DEV Community

Cover image for palpatine supports markdown - minor release
Batuhan Ipci
Batuhan Ipci

Posted on • Updated on

palpatine supports markdown - minor release

It has been almost 4 weeks since I started developing palpatine. In this week I have added couple more features to support markdown files. If you missed the first post on palpatine, you can read it here. The static site generator I am building is a real world tool, so I want to make it efficient and my goal is to help users find information they need as quickly as possible. Palpatine now supports horizontal rule and inline code features to help you compose your interactive documentation with ease. See the demo with the new markdown features.

Creating Topic Branches

Regarding the features I stated above, I initially filed separate issues Issue #9 and issue #10 and created separate branches for each feature. There are couple ways I know to create branches through terminal. One of them is;

  git branch <branch-name> # creates a new branch
  git checkout <branch-name> # switches to the new branch
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This is the way I used to create branches. But I found out that there is a better way to create branches and switch to them in one command. The command is;

  git checkout -b issue-10
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This command little bit more efficient compared to the previous one. It creates a new branch and switches to it in one command.
After I created the branches, I started working on developing the markdown features. Adding the features I stated was not hard after all, I am trying make my code efficient than ever and clean.

Merge Time

After I finished the features, I merged the branches to the main branch. I used the following command to merge the branches to the master branch;

  git merge issue-10
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

The fun part was watching all changes from the different branches merge to the main branch. I achieved this smoothly without crashing any part of the code. I did not have any merge conflicts this time as I was careful about what I was changing and merging.

Links to my Issues and Merged commits

Issue Closed by
Issue #9 2296034
Issue #10 37d8c11

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
saminarp profile image
Samina Rahman Purba

so good!