DEV Community

Cover image for If you would recreate WordPress from zero, what would you change?
OpenSource for WebCrumbs

Posted on • Updated on

If you would recreate WordPress from zero, what would you change?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
opensourcee profile image
OpenSource

I'll start. I would create subheadings in the left panel named after the team responsible for that part of the website. E.g. Marketing, Design, Legal, etc.

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

Rethink Gutenberg. The entire system is built in php, but this aspect requires you to know react, et al to extend it? That doesn't make a lot of sense. I love the block-based building pattern, but I shouldn't need to rely on something like ACF Pro to create my own blocks without going through the pain of learning a new stack.