DEV Community

Cover image for Rants of a Beginner Techie 4
Gold Agbonifo_Isaac
Gold Agbonifo_Isaac

Posted on • Updated on

Rants of a Beginner Techie 4

Hey there, it's Gold Agbonifo Isaac, your self-proclaimed number one fan, even though I have no clue who you are! Welcome back to the "Rants of a Beginner Techie" series, where I'm here to share my joys, pains, struggles, and whatever else comes to mind. Frankly, I'm having a blast doing it!

Just like always, I don't have a strict plan or a fixed idea in mind when I start writing these articles. It all just flows out as I let my thoughts pour onto the page. That's what makes it a rant, after all, isn't it?

It's easy to lose sight of why you started something, who you are, and even your own mental well-being when you get caught up in comparing yourself to others, especially on social media. I used to be guilty of that, too, until very recently. Let me tell you why you should stop it right now.

In the words of wisdom, "YOU'LL DESTROY THE LITTLE SANITY OR ANY SANITY YOU HAVE LEFT!!" Comparing yourself to others is a slow and insidious poison that can leave you with nothing but depression and constant fear gnawing at your soul.

I've had to distance myself from that toxic space by cutting back on content that makes me feel like I'm lagging behind or wasting my time. It's tough, and it seriously crimps my productivity. Trust me, if I were you, I'd avoid it like the plague!

On a brighter note, my first portfolio project is coming together, albeit at a snail's pace. But I'm genuinely proud of all the lessons I'm learning along the way. I'm in no hurry to just build and showcase something I'm not genuinely proud of. I want to burst with pride when I finally complete my project!

Now, let's talk about some of those tech influencers out there. They can really get on your nerves with their do's and don'ts, especially when they're talking about stuff they've never tried themselves. They treat it as though it were "textbook wisdom" and try to cash in on newbie techies. From what I've learned so far, the best strategy is to simply ignore people like that. They tend to pile on unnecessary pressure and stress, and I can't stand it.

Yes, there are some folks out there genuinely trying to help you grow, but sadly, they are few and far between. We, you and I, need to be discerning and not fall into the trap of influencers who are just trying to hawk their products and boost their social media presence. Being a beginner developer doesn't make you or me a fool. We're on our own unique journeys, and we'll make our impact in our own ways!

And with that, my fantastic readers, we've reached the end of today's episode. Join me next time for another exciting episode of "RANTS OF A BEGINNER TECHIE." Feel free to drop a comment or reaction if you're enjoying my series. P.S. I'm really digging this whole series thing, and I'm considering starting one on web development from scratch. I promise it'll be more beginner-friendly than any other web development series out there! Let me know what you think of my idea.

You can also follow me on https://twitter.com/Golden_builds.

Top comments (0)