DEV Community

Gulnur Baimukhambetova
Gulnur Baimukhambetova

Posted on

My first post!

Hello everyone!

My name is Gulnur and this is my very first blog post. I am very excited!

A little bit about myself - I am a sixth-semester student in the Computer Programming and Analysis program at Seneca College. In the past, I used to participate in lots of competitive programming contests and that was how I got into algorithms. Right now, I am shifting my focus and I independently growing my skills in Machine Learning.

The reason behind this post is that I am taking an Open Source Development course as part of my program. I got very interested in it because of a huge popularity and success I have been noticing lately around this topic. One of the examples I heard about was Tesla sharing all of it development informational freely to all the public. It helped a lot to improve the industry of electric and sustainable transportation. In this term, I am hoping to achieve a good fundamental understanding of open source concepts and methods, learn about the best practices and start exploring myself. It would be great to also have a part or a complete project that combines my current skills and open source together by the end of the semester.

There was a task to pick a trending repo that is of interest to us and my choice fell on the repo called diffusers. I decided to go through the monthly trends as they seem to show the longest attention holders. This particular one about the text-to-image diffusion model was very interesting to me a from an ML point of view as well as open source: it has constant releases, nice documentation and lots of happy users.

Thanks for reading my first post,

Gulnur

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Hello and welcome to DEV Community ! 👋🏼😉
You can say hi to the Welcome Thread, introduce yourself and talk what you're learning !

Collapse
 
gulyapulya profile image
Gulnur Baimukhambetova

Thanks for the link!

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

welcome!

Collapse
 
shinjithdev profile image
shinjith

welcome to DEV community !

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
volker_schukai profile image
Volker Schukai

Welcome to DEV!