DEV Community

Cover image for Book recommendations?
Amy Hudspith
Amy Hudspith

Posted on • Updated on

Book recommendations?

Looking for book recommendations of any kind! Leave your faves below 📚

Top comments (26)

Collapse
 
stereoplegic profile image
Mike Bybee • Edited

I'll go big

  • in literal size
  • in florid, poetic verbosity of prose
  • in intricate backstory
  • in incredible, "larger than life" characters
  • in emotions it evokes (ever had a book make you cry and smile at the same time?)
  • in declaring it the greatest novel ever written:

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

Collapse
 
mrbandler profile image
mrbandler
Collapse
 
kethmars profile image
kethmars

Thinking fast and slow - a true masterpiece every developer can learn from. It help you to think critically.

You can check out my Dev.to article on the book:
dev.to/kethmars/how-i-learned-to-t...

Collapse
 
cid_siqueira profile image
Aldo Cid Siqueira

99 Bottles of OOP. It teachs a lot of design techniques with cool examples.

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

My absolute favorite:

Robert's Grave The white goddess from which I learn about Taliesin which in turn made me name my programming language Gwion.

I'd also advice reading Mircea Eliade Aspects du mythe (sorry I can't find it's name in english).

Anything by Selma Lagerlof.

Also look at the eerie similarities beetwen Eliade's Thirteen roses and Orhan Pamuk's Snow.

Collapse
 
margo_hdb profile image
Margo McCabe

I just reread The Glass Castle, which is a unique & inspiring memoir. Next on my list is Pachinko which has been recommended a few times.

Collapse
 
sandordargo profile image
Sandor Dargo

I've just collected all my book reviews at DevReads, you might find there something interesting.

Right now, I'm reading Lives of the Stoics by Ryan Holiday.

Regarding IT, I've read Code: The Hidden Language of Computer Hardware and Software that is an excellent overview of our profession's history.

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇

There's a book that made me cry: Java Algorithms and Data Structures :D

Collapse
 
melissahuertadev profile image
Meli H

why is that?

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇

Well that was a joke but you can learn about data structures on a more appropriate or efficient way 😂

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

'The Phoenix Project' is awesome!

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I hear The House At Pooh Corner is awfully nice.

Collapse
 
datacharmer profile image
Giuseppe Maxia

The Pragmatic Programmer. It is so good, you may want to read it several times

Collapse
 
jkimexploring profile image
JkImExploring

I'm reading Defying Reality by David M Ewalt and loving it! I keep hearing myself saying "that's so cool!!" Ahen I learned about all the advances 🤣

Collapse
 
messerli90 profile image
Michael Messerli

Trust Me I'm Lying by Ryan Holiday was a really interesting read. It's crazy to get an inside look at how easy it is to manipulate the media.

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden
  • Gut: Giulia Enders
  • Algorithms to Live By The Computer Science of Human Decisions: Brian Christian, Tom Griffiths
  • Psycho-Cybernetics Updated and Expanded: Maxwell Maltz
Collapse
 
morenodotnet profile image