DEV Community

Cover image for My experiences with Ambassador programs
Jakub Andrzejewski
Jakub Andrzejewski

Posted on • Updated on

My experiences with Ambassador programs

When I first heard the term Ambassador I was instantly interested into learning more about it. How does it work, what do you get from it, how you can become one, and more questions were running through my head.

Currently, I am an active ambassador of three organizations and I have also participated in creation of Ambassador programs from scratch.

In this article, I would like to share with you my experiences with them so that you can verify whether this would be something for you.

My story

My road to becoming an ambassador started from Storyblok Headless CMS. I have worked with this tool for some time back then, written few articles, and created few smaller development projects with it. I also spoked at the Vue.js Live conference about it. So, I have contacted Storyblok's Ambassador Program form to see if I am eliglible to get the title of an Ambassador. And they accepted it ;)

Vue.js Live talk

Since then, I have created even more content about this product that is becoming more and more popular over time. Storyblok Dev Rel team is investing much more nowadays to the Ambassador program to allow ambassadors to grow and that is also why I recommend you to try it out :)

Discussing about VSF Vendure Storyblok

After Storyblok, I was working on a Algolia module for Nuxt 3. There was no module like this before so I decided to create one from scratch and I am maintaining it until today. Because Algolia company is not that active in Vue community, they decided to make me an Ambassador of their brand so that I could represent Algolia in Vue & Nuxt communities. Since then I was creating developer content and I have also conducted few conference talks about Algolia as well.

Nuxt Algolia

After that, I contributed a lot into Nuxt ecosystem in terms of other modules, articles, videos and conference talks so the guys decided to make me an ambassador.

In summary, I would say that becoming an Ambassador for each of these organizations was something like an award for my contribution to their ecosystems which allows me to grow as well.

Should you become an Ambassador?

I would say yes! If you enjoy working with certain project/product start creating content about it. You will find more interesting use cases that will require you to learn new approaches and concepts.

Sooner or later, you will be able to contact the organization to talk about your contribution. Or they will contact you directly. My point is that if you like to create developer content you are basically one step closer to becoming an ambassador. And this opens a lot of doors in terms of contacting right people, funds for attending conferences, channel sponsorships and many more!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
alexandergekov profile image
Alexander Gekov

Nice overview and very inspirational! Hope to be on Ambassador level soon, just started my own content creation journey.