DEV Community

Cover image for "Unable to Open IPYNB... Bad Control..." Fix
OdyAsh
OdyAsh

Posted on

"Unable to Open IPYNB... Bad Control..." Fix

TOC

Problem Statement

When you finish working on a Jupyter Notebook (.ipynb) file, sometimes, it might not be saved in a correct state, so when you later open the file, you see an error which states "Unable to open x.ipynb. Bad control character in string literal in JSON at position y (line w column z)":

Image description

Solution

Solution (taken from this SO answer):

Open the file by clicking on the Open in Text Editor option shown in the screenshot above.

Then see which lines are causing syntax errors:

Image description

Then, make sure these lines end with \n:

Image description

As you can notice by the highlighted lines in yellow, I had duplicated the line ipython = get_ipython()\n in the wrong place, which was the cause of the error.

A Tip on How to Search for Errors

Initially, I searched for the error like this:

Image description

As you can see, the initial results weren't helpful. Moreover, when I asked ChatGPT 3.5 on this error (with minimal prompt engineering), it gave me this result, which wasn't very useful for my case:

Image description

However, when I modified my search term to be like this:

Image description

It gave me the SO post that solved my issue!

TLDR; knowing small search tricks can save you some time :].

Bonus - autoreload

If you're curious about the context of the code in the screenshots above, check this file :].

Outro

Hit me up if you have any questions ^^ 🙌:
LinkedIn
GitHub
Gmail: ashicsresources@gmail.com

But for now...

Image description

Top comments (0)