DEV Community

PythonIsNotASnake
PythonIsNotASnake

Posted on

My personal #DEVResolutions2024

I want to use this to share my personal goals. This is stuff which I want to get done in 2024. As background information I am a backend web developer but my goals aim more on private dev goals than on goals for my career.

Personal Goals:

  1. Goal: Develop an own game.
  2. Action Steps: In the last year I have developed a visual novel game by the use of Ren'Py. This year I want to learn Godot to develop bigger games. The plan is at first to start with the documentation. The next step will be challenge projects from the 20 games challenge. After this I should earned the knowledge to start with a own game.
  3. Timeline: To reach this goal I will nearly need the complete year 2024 and probably parts of the next year.

Personal Aspirations:

  1. Aspiration: To be up to date.
  2. Why it Matters: For me it is important to be up to date. This means that I can read and learn new things right then when they appear. So it can support me in my daily job to know about the newest 'shit' like Blockchain or AI.
  3. Support System: To reach this I will read more tech news and will be a more active reader on DEV.to.

DEV Community Contributions:

  1. Contribution Goal: Be more part of the DEV.to community.
  2. Collaboration Plans: I will publish more posts and use DEV.to as first source to solve my programming issues and to rise my knowledge.
  3. Measuring Impact: Feedback from the community is very important to see if I could help anyone to solve their issues or problems. One reaction or comment are enough for me to see that someone could benefit from my post.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
khloeabrown profile image
Khloe Brown

Good luck on your game dev journey! I am also learning Godot for the first time in my attempt to make a game for fun.

Just a thought: Maybe you can document your journey on making a Godot game to help others learn as you learn!

Collapse
 
pythonisnotasnake profile image
PythonIsNotASnake

Hi Khloe. I follow your thought and wrote down my first month of process in learning godot. Thanks for the input. :)
Every beginning is hard or my first steps with GODOT - The 1st month

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Good luck! And thank you for sharing the 20 games challenges - I'll be passing this along to some folks.

Collapse
 
pythonisnotasnake profile image
PythonIsNotASnake

Thank you :) . Another developer at work share this challenge with me. It is a really good start point to get into it.