DEV Community

Cover image for Unshorten URLs Plugin
sahra πŸ’«
sahra πŸ’«

Posted on

Unshorten URLs Plugin

This is a submission for the Coze AI Bot Challenge: Trailblazer.

What I Built

Unshorten URLs Plugin is a simple tool that reveals the original long URL behind a short link

Plugin's interface

Inspiration

I noticed that my chatbot WITL had issues with analyzing the original link behind a short link, which created a problem of harmful links being able to hide behind a short link. I didn't want that to be the case, so I searched for a plugin that could un-shorten short links before analyzing them, but to my surprise, there was no plugin available for that. I took that as an opportunity to create a new plugin for future Coze developers who are also looking for ways to reveal the URLs behind short links.

Demo

I published and added the plugin to my chatbot, now it has the ability to reveal the original URL behind a short link🀸
Plugin demo

Journey

I was not quite sure how to create a plugin on the Coze platform (my bad for not always reading documentationsπŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ). Eventually, I was able to able to figure it out. I also didn't know the exact steps that were to be taken to unshorten a URL, so I sought out Chatgpt to assist me with the steps. I took that and implemented it in the plugin, ran the necessary tests till they passed successfully and then published it to the Coze plugin storeβœ…. This will be my first ever plugin created😁. I love how easy and seamless the Coze platform made it.

Feel free to make use of this plugin for any of your chatbots that might require the ability to unshorten URLs πŸ€—.

As always, feedback is highly welcome.✨

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
akuoko_konadu profile image
Konadu Akwasi Akuoko

Awesome 😎

Congratulations πŸŽ‰ on the good work

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra πŸ’«

Thank youu :)