DEV Community

Cover image for Side Project Sunday! What do you have going on?
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Side Project Sunday! What do you have going on?

Let's hear about what you have going on! If you've shared your project before, what's new?

Top comments (58)

Collapse
 
josemunoz profile image
José Muñoz

I'm writing a Typescript interface for the Phillips Hue APIv2 because none of the existing solutions supported gradient light-strips, its called Hue-Sync and its part of a larger side project that will become the open source alternative to the $300 Phillips HDMI Sync box

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

The Tails V2 beta is already being tested by a few users!

We've done the groundwork for our API too!

Collapse
 
ddehueck profile image
Devin de Hueck

Made a lil SMS app to text my ideas and have them be texted back to me later. I was already texting myself ideas so I figured it'd be nice to have them be sent back, ranked, and searchable.

galaxi.me or text +17755225513

Collapse
 
danielzotti profile image
Daniel Zotti

Good idea! Why don't you develop a Telegram bot? The porting should be simple and you could have a wider audience that would use the app!

Collapse
 
ddehueck profile image
Devin de Hueck

Great idea - I had looked at WhatsApp but that seemed too involved. I’ll give Telegram a look!

Collapse
 
ddehueck profile image
Devin de Hueck

Just added to telegram! t.me/galaxi_me_bot

Thread Thread
 
danielzotti profile image
Daniel Zotti

It works like a charm.. Is the code on GitHub?

Collapse
 
khokon profile image
Khokon M.

That's really good work man! And the idea is totally mind blowing. Keep it up.

Collapse
 
ddehueck profile image
Devin de Hueck

Thanks let me know if you try it out and have any feedback!

Collapse
 
apoorvacg profile image
Apoorva CG

Side project Sunday, sounds good😄! I worked on my personal website n it's up
here
Will be updating the site with few more details n sections!
It's built with #nextjs #tailwindcss and deployed over #vercel . Thank you!
Have a great week ahead 😊

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font

Site looks nice!

Collapse
 
apoorvacg profile image
Apoorva CG

ThankU @frankfont

Collapse
 
toddpress profile image
Todd Pressley

I love the frosted glass look over the moving gradient! Nicely done 🫶

Collapse
 
apoorvacg profile image
Apoorva CG

ThankU @toddpress

Collapse
 
psypher1 profile image
James 'Dante' Midzi

Ooh, this is nice... I never thought about about the blur effect

Collapse
 
apoorvacg profile image
Apoorva CG

give it a try, you will like it!

Collapse
 
allanladev profile image
Allan LaDev

I am currently on the verge of burning out, so over the weekend I want to limit coding time, and focus my energy outward by connecting with people. I've reactivated my twitter account, and this reply is my actually very first interaction on dev.to!

I'll be brainstorming blog post ideas and other ways to document my journey. Unfortunately I've been neglecting the networking part, so I hope to connect with the community more.

I hope to have my portfolio deployed in the next week or two.

Collapse
 
toddpress profile image
Todd Pressley

@frankfont has it right… you’ve got the right mindset

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font

Good choice Allan! Tech is good, but without people it is empty.

Collapse
 
perssondennis profile image
Dennis Persson

Currently I'm working on my blog most of the time. I have some improvements I need to do but as always it is intriguing to develop new features.

Thinking about a 3D animation, but I think I maybe have do something about the memes page firsts :)

Collapse
 
toddpress profile image
Todd Pressley

Read your development analogy to the human body article… love it, man! Great work! Best analogy I’ve heard used to explain that concept.

Collapse
 
perssondennis profile image
Dennis Persson

Thanks Todd! Glad you liked it :) That's actually my least read article by far. Not many people have viewed it, the title must not have been very alluring.

Collapse
 
golangch profile image
Stefan Wuthrich

I did another SEO round for my Job boards for #Golang Jobs and #JavaScript Jobs

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice

Collapse
 
tiim profile image
Tim Bachmann

I have recently started to dabble in go and made a commenting api for my personal website.

I also have an idea for a SaaS project for sport coaches and teachers that I might try to build over the summer.

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font

Neat projects!

Collapse
 
levintech profile image
Levin

I am currently studying DS and ML. I finished and earned 10 certificates from Kaggle tutorials. Of course, I enrolled Deep Learning Specialization from Coursera which are provided by DeepLearning.ai (Andrew). By now, I am on the third course.

Collapse
 
raguay profile image
Richard Guay

My main side projects are still Modal File Manager and EmailIt. They are both Wails version 2 apps that I use everyday in my workflow. These keep me busy on my spare time (which isn’t much!).

Collapse
 
jesusantguerrero profile image
Jesus Guerrero

This is an project image generator that you use in the readme?

I like how well documented are your readme's.

Collapse
 
raguay profile image
Richard Guay

I used socialify.git.ci/ to create the image. Thanks for reading the README. It’s long, but the project is complex. I haven’t finished documenting most of the features yet.

Collapse
 
martinratinaud profile image
Martin Ratinaud

Working on a free staking crypto rates comparator.

It's written in NextJs and deployed on vercel.

I currently compare 25 exchanges and more than 500 coins.

I first created this because I wanted to find the best place to stake MATIC.

But I'm pretty sure right now, the right way to go is to stake ethereum as you can get 10,63% not locked with rewards distributed daily!

Collapse
 
orliesaurus profile image
orliesaurus

I posted about my side project on here and on IH - it's an open source Stripe App that shows you how to build an end-to-end app on for Stripe's Dashboard

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I'm a little late to this, but I was daydreaming while waiting for fireworks on the 3rd and decided to try seeing if I could build an AI to play the One Night Ultimate Werewolf social deduction game against itself using a limited number of roles, probabilistic modeling, and some form of reinforcement learning. The project is coming along, but it's not capable of lying to me yet!

Collapse
 
fegroders profile image
Fernando Groders

I'm working on a bot that posts the latest tech-related news to Twitter, Telegram and my Discord Server.

GitHub Repo
Twitter

Collapse
 
soniarpit profile image
Arpit

not a big project but fun mini-project. I made a chrome extension to tell myself a truth/advice but in popular meme template

chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/...