DEV Community

Vincent A. Cicirello
Vincent A. Cicirello

Posted on

On the pending sale of Google Domains to Squarespace: Any thoughts/opinions on domain registrars?

Google Domains is in the process of being sold to Squarespace. See Squarespace for more info on the pending sale.

What are your thoughts on alternative domain registrars to Google Domains? Do nothing and just go with Squarespace after the transition? They indicate they will keep Google's renewal pricing for at least 12 months, but I'm guessing they will increase significantly after that (e.g., domains that currently cost $12 at Google would cost $20 at Squarespace's current rates).

Alternatives to Squarespace that I'm considering are Porkbun and Cloudflare. What are your opinions on those? Pros and cons? What others should I consider? Some things that are important to me include no game playing on pricing (e.g. same renewal price as registration price), no added costs for things that should be included (e.g. DNSSEC, Whois privacy, etc). Squarespace appears to meet those requirements.

Which registrars do you use or have used? What do you like about them? What don't you like? Have you had any problems?

Top comments (25)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard • Edited

I didn't know that, but LOL, killed by Google is already up-to-date with the now defunct 288 Google projects.

Experimenting is fine but I continue to not understand why Google hates his brand like that.

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

It is especially ironic that they are killing it only about a year or so after taking it out of beta. It was in beta for most of its 9 or so years of life.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I've used Namecheap and have never had trouble with that service.

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Thanks for the recommendation.

 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

I haven't actually ruled out just doing nothing now, and going with Squarespace after the transition. But I don't know anyone who has experience with them, positive or negative, and so far nobody has commented on Squarespace. I'm guessing based on the focus of their website that most of their current domain business is tied to their hosting services, which I have no intention of using.

I actually have anywhere from 3 to 8 years left on each of my domains (I tend to add multiple years at a time) so any pricing changes won't really impact me for a while.

But knowing myself, if I don't use this as an opportunity to deliberately decide which registrar to use, then I'll likely just end up continuing to use the one that Google has chosen for me.

 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard • Edited

Apparently you just deleted a comment where you said at the same time

  • "No it was not condescending!"
  • "Nothing to see here, find a real problem to discuss."

Your comment was self-contradictory so I'm glad you deleted it.

killedbygoogle.com/ <-- 288 products

I do think it's a real problem that Google hates its brand so much that it puts it on hundreds or services that it kills not long after. When you trust a company for a product you depend on, you are not happy to see that trust being destroyed carelessly.

Image description

Collapse
 
syxaxis profile image
George Johnson • Edited

Had my domains parked with Gandi for about 16 years now! They may not be perfect and probably don't have a ton of features others do, you get simple mail and standard DNS editing, but never had any probs in all that time even when transferring in and out on some occasions. They deliberately K.I.S.S. which suits me fine!

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard • Edited

People like to complain about something that has zero impact on them :)

The author was asking what the alternatives were
Most people were offering them
Some like me were making fun of Google killing its own product every week.

Where is the complaining that you imagine to be everywhere and for no reason?

Collapse
 
jwr1 profile image
John Wesley

I've been looking into alternatives myself. I'm leaning towards cloudflare, porkbun, and namesilo (in that order). Cloudflare is the cheapest but seems to be missing a huge majority of the newer TLDs, so I'll use porkbun for the domains incompatible with cloudflare.

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

My current top 2 are the same as yours. Except at the moment I'm not sure which is my top 1. I haven't taken a look at namesilo yet though.

Collapse
 
daniol profile image
daniol

I am using porkbun.com and internet.bs for years

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Thanks for the recommendations. I switched my nameservers today for one of my domains to porkbun's to try out their dns management interface before actually transferring anything anywhere. I think I like their interface better than Google's.

Collapse
 
emboldtyler profile image
Tyler K

Pretty sure I'll be taking mine to Cloudflare. Wholesale pricing and a great interface for editing DNS, plus all the other fun Cloudflare security benefits.

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Thanks. Cloudflare is one of the ones I'm leaning toward.

Collapse
 
emboldtyler profile image
Tyler K

For sure. AFAIK it's the closest thing to what Google Domains offered, but with a fair amount more features.

Collapse
 
cloudkungfu profile image
Javel Rowe

Porkbun has been really great so far! Super easy to purchase domains and add DNS records. They also recently added a tool that can generate domain name suggestions for you 🐷

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Thanks. DNS management is actually one of the things I'm looking at before deciding where to transfer. I might just configure dns for one of my domains on porkbun first to try out their interface (it looks like they have free dns management even if domain isn't registered with them). And then do the same with Cloudflare, etc. I realize you don't need to manage dns with the registrar, but I prefer to do so.

Collapse
 
joshuaamaju profile image
Joshua Amaju

You think people are complaining because potential of price change? Seems you're out of touch with what people are actually saying

Collapse
 
eltonchou profile image
Elton H.Y. Chou

Just a buy a .app domain, but it cannot be transfered.
Hope they can be transferable after acquisition.
I prefer Cloudflare.

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Thanks. I might go with Cloudflare. Most of my domains can be transferred anywhere (.com, .org, .net). I have a .dev that might limit my options, but I have to wait on that one anyway (registered it too recently to transfer).

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

They had the same prices for at least 7 years. I think their domain registrar business is too small relative to rest of their company for pricing to really matter to them.

Collapse
 
katafrakt profile image
Paweł Świątkowski

I'm actually surprised that people were using Google Domains.

Personally, I only use OVH.

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Thanks. I'll check out OVH. I hadn't heard of them.

I started using Google Domains because it was convenient.

 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

Beyond search, YouTube, and ads, not much with Google lasts long. And YouTube probably lasts mainly for the ad revenue.