DEV Community

Cover image for Welcome Thread - v274

Welcome Thread - v274

Robotic hand with text over it that reads "hey"


  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

  3. Share your wins from this week in our weekly "What was your win this week? thread.

Top comments (199)

Collapse
 
prakirth profile image
Prakirth Govardhanam

Hello there! Been a member since a month. Learning MERN stack development. I am really grateful to this community for making me feel involved and providing several opportunities to network!
@thepracticaldev your posts are so inclusive! Love it here ♥️

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooohooo! Awesome stuff, Prakirth. It's good to have ya with us here. 🙌

Collapse
 
prakirth profile image
Prakirth Govardhanam

Thanks @michaeltharrington for the welcome 😊

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Hello, Prakith! It's so great you are enjoying and learning with this community! We would like to know about your learning journey

Collapse
 
prakirth profile image
Prakirth Govardhanam

Hello @thaisavieira ! Indeed, it’s an amazing platform!
About my journey, I dropped out from my Phd in Pharmaceutical Sciences to pursue a more fulfilling career in Software development. So far,

  • figured out Django, AWS CCP
  • Now learning MERN stack from Full Stack open (from University of Helsinki Open University)
  • figuring out how to write series posts in DEV about the basics I learnt in AWS
Collapse
 
dhevendhiran profile image
Altra Dimension

Hello

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Hello 👋 Welcome to DEV! I am happy to hear you love it here! I love this place as well, it is totally awesome!

Collapse
 
prakirth profile image
Prakirth Govardhanam

Hello @anitaolsen , thank you! Within a month I made more valuable connections than I made in a year. It is so surprising that it is beginner-friendly and at the same time keeping you in touch with latest advancements 😃

Collapse
 
iamspathan profile image
Sohail Pathan

Welcome New Devs 👋

This is Sohail Pathan - I'm currently dev advocate @ ApyHub

My expertise lies in working with APIs and help developers with anything related to API :)

I'm here to learn from you - share my leanings as well. You can connect with me @iamspathan [Twitter/LinkedIn]

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Hello Sohail Pathan 👋 Much welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
iamspathan profile image
Sohail Pathan

Glad to connect @anitaolsen :)

Together let's make this community more engaging and productive for developers.

Thread Thread
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

🙂

Count me in! ✨

Collapse
 
giuliano1993 profile image
Giuliano1993

Hello Sohail! Glad to have you on board!
Hope you'll enjoy the community, find interesting contents and create new ones too!
Welcome again on Dev!

Btw, I'm reaching out on Twitter :D

Collapse
 
iamspathan profile image
Sohail Pathan

Glad to connect @giuliano1993

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey folks!

Welcome to DEV. 🙌

Quick tip: you can create comment templates which you can set up for responses that you use frequently. For instance, I have a number of quick tips which I've set up as comment templates so that I can regularly drop them into these welcome threads and this is one of them. 😉

To set your templates up, just navigate over to /settings/extensions and follow the instructions under the heading Comment templates.

To use your templates, you'll need to click into the comment input box, click the ... menu, and click the icon that looks a bit like a book. You'll then see all your available responses.

Here's a post with more info on this feature:

If you have any questions about this feature or anything else, don't hesitate to hit me up. I'm happy to help!

Collapse
 
devh0us3 profile image
Alex P

Hello everyone, I try to share my knowledge and experience here

My first post is about email protection even if someone has access to your inbox

Review and comment, please!

dev.to/devh0us3/protect-your-email...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

This looks awesome! Appreciate ya sharing with us, Alex. And great to have ya here on DEV, btw. 🙌

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Great, Alex P! It's always a pleasure to read about others' experiences and sharing knowledge is our goal!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Hi there! Welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
leonardsangoroh profile image
Leonard Sangoroh

Hello everyone,
Leonard Sangoroh here 👋🏾, an iOS and indie developer to be.
I am here to share by ups and downs through this journey and learn from this community.
I am hopeful that I am in the right place :)

Collapse
 
mchjess profile image
mchjess

Hello. I'm Jess. I'm new(ish) to developing and growing in confidence. Have a great day. Enjoy many things.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Welcome Jess! Great to have ya in the community. 🙌

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Hello! 👋 great to have you here! 👏

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Be welcome, Jess! I sure you will find such great things to learn and amazing people to connect here!
I'm a beginner too, feel free to exchange experiences with me.

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Hello! Welcome to the DEV community!

Collapse
 
jth1903 profile image
Jeff Hammack

Hey guys,
I've been learning for 3-4 years. I chose programming because it makes it possible to bring my ideas to life in the digital space. if anyone is interested in connecting you can find me at: @jeffreyhammack6 on twitter

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Welcome to DEV, Jeff!

Collapse
 
pranav_vkumar profile image
Pranav V Kumar

Hey guys.
My name is Pranav and I am a 3rd year college student. I mostly code in golang but currently learning rust on the side. Happy to join the Dev.to community. If you wish to connect with me, hit me up anytime at @pranav_vkumar

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot woot! Nice to have ya here Pranav. We got some Gophers hanging out in our community here... in any case, hope you find the resources on DEV to be helpful and the community to be friendly. 😀

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
dinatolotra profile image
Dina Ratsinjomanana Tolotra

Hello everyone!
I'm Dina Tolotra, a first year CS student.

I am especially here to learn from all of you because as a first year student I don't have so much to share but I hope, with the help of all of you, I can in my turn help other.

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Great that you joined us here. DEV is full of very knowledgeable and insightful folks. I'm sure you'll learn a few things.

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
Thaísa Vieira

Hello, Dina! It's so great to meet someone in the first CS year too! Let's exchange experiences, you can reach me on Mastodon - TechToots

Collapse
 
adityawaghaskar profile image
Aditya waghaskar

Hey there!! This is aditya!! Primarily interested in learning more about web development and cs principles, my past experience has been mostly around low level systems like microcontrollers with c language. Very happy to connect with all amazing people here!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Hi there! Much welcome to DEV. I hope you will like it here!

Collapse
 
dailydoseofdotnet profile image
Micah Bello

Hello everyone. I'm Micah. I'm a full stack.NET developer and I'm currently trying to get into content creation on .YouTube. Nice to be here 😊.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo Micah!

My name is Michael and I'm a Community Manager here at DEV.

So, Daily Dose of dotNET is a freaking great name for a channel, haha! Loving the alliteration. 😀

In any case, if you decide you wanna share some of these videos on DEV, you're welcome to do so by embedding them in posts. I wrote a post just the other day guiding folks through how embeds work on their site. In fact, I'll drop an embed to it!

Well, that's all for now. If you have any questions about this or anything else on DEV, feel free to hit me up!

Collapse
 
dailydoseofdotnet profile image
Micah Bello

Thanks Michael. I'll check it out.

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.☆

Hi there 👋 Much welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
dailydoseofdotnet profile image
Micah Bello

Thanks.

Collapse
 
arturocrisanto profile image
Ruz Maray

Hey everyone, I'm Ruz. I'm currently on the lookout for repositories to join as a test automation

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Hello everyone, sorry for the delay! The days at my new job are on fire 🔥

But, everyone is welcome! This is the best community and we will make it better!

So, let's talk! What are you are?! A Front or Back developer?! Or something else?!

I'm a Front Developer specializing in Angular 🙋‍♂️

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
alexanderrmg124 profile image
Ricardo A. Morales Garcia

Luego de una larga ausencia del ciberespacio, siendo honesto me considero un novato.....os pido un poquito de paciencia pues
regreso optimista, retroalimentando, actualizandome y
por supuesto emocionado ....aprendiendo un poco de todo!
Agradecido y decidido a aprovechar al máximo la oportunidad de estar en este grupo!....
_Ama lo que haces
Haz lo que amas
Respeta Gracias
!
!_

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.