DEV Community

Cover image for Welcome Thread - v277

Welcome Thread - v277

Cartoon of a person answering the phone and saying "Yo"


  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

  3. Share your wins from this week in our weekly "What was your win this week? thread.

Top comments (272)

Collapse
 
superp0sit1on profile image
JĂșlio Martins

Hi there 👋

I'm a Fullstack Developer, previously at IBM, based in São Paulo, Brazil, looking forward to grow with the DEV community over here 🎉

Feel free to reach all over my social networks, and I'll soon post a lot of content over here as well đŸȘŽ

A matter of curiosity: I'm completely passionate about open-source, astronomy 🔭, and retro stuff đŸ’Ÿ

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĂ­sa Vieira

Hello, JĂșlio! It's great to find some Brazillians here, be welcome!

Collapse
 
tyrelldotexe profile image
Tyrell Thomas

Welcome! I can't wait to read your content here. What are some retro things you're passionate about? Is it tech, gaming, or something more general? 😊

Collapse
 
superp0sit1on profile image
JĂșlio Martins

Hey Tyrell! I love all kind of retro stuff, but specially tech (I've a Thinkpad x240 and some old Nokia's cell phones) and gaming (I had a console collection but I needed to sell it, so I'm looking forward to restart my collection in the future).

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°‱.☆

Hello! 👋 Astronomy and retro stuff are awesome! Much welcome to the DEV community! I hope you will like it here 😊

Collapse
 
phalkmin profile image
Paulo Henrique

Welcome! 😊

Collapse
 
jitendrachoudhary profile image
Jitendra Choudhary

Welcome Julio!! I am also interested in open source community as well. Nice to see you

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
marinakim44 profile image
Marina Kim

wow, ex-IBM, this is so cool!

Collapse
 
afnan_ahmed profile image
Afnaan

hi, that's cool, front end dev here

Collapse
 
zxxngod profile image
Zan XX

Hello

Collapse
 
varshav profile image
Varsha VM

Hi there
ex-IBM, that's so impressive

Collapse
 
thomascansino profile image
Thomas Cansino

Hi guys, I'm Thomas, I'm a civil engineer documenting my self-taught journey to full-stack web development.

I document them by writing blogs and posting vids on my youtube channel!

I'm new here and I wish to engage with all of you guys. :)

youtube.com/@thomascansino

Collapse
 
prakirth profile image
Prakirth Govardhanam

Hello Thomas! Welcome to the community 😊 I am a self-taught Developer in progress.
Documenting the journey is indeed a great idea! (which I have been procrastinating on) Time to do that đŸ––đŸŸ

Collapse
 
thomascansino profile image
Thomas Cansino

Thanks for the welcome Prakirth! You should definitely document your journey! It helps you retain information as it encourages active recall and you also leave a footprint which you can reference in the future!

Thread Thread
 
prakirth profile image
Prakirth Govardhanam

Definitely! Couldn’t agree more. My problem is that all my documentation is scattered all over GitHub, personal notes, blog posts.. etc., need to aggregate all at one source. Any suggestions?

Thread Thread
 
thomascansino profile image
Thomas Cansino

My only suggestion is for you to rearrange it and if it's too many, a little every day goes a lot. While doing that, start uploading already despite skipping some of your journey since you're still arranging it. That way, you're establishing the habit of documenting already. It's the most important thing, imo.

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Welcome to DEV!

Collapse
 
thaisavieira profile image
ThaĂ­sa Vieira

Hello there! I loved your posts about your learning journey. Be welcome and let's keep learning!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°‱.☆

Hello and welcome to the community, Thomas! 👋

Collapse
 
qwertyy profile image
qwertyy

hey, thomas!! hope you have a blast here :)

Collapse
 
afnan_ahmed profile image
Afnaan

hello

Collapse
 
ssga profile image
Seansg

In the midst of a career pivot myself! Best of luck.

Collapse
 
thomascansino profile image
Thomas Cansino

Goodluck to you too! Btw, from which career are you pivoting from?

Collapse
 
mlichtblau profile image
Michaela Cordero

Hello everyone from Reno, NV.
I'm hoping to start a career change and get the best tips and tricks here. It's a bit scary for me, but I'm positive I can do this journey! 😃

Collapse
 
mitchiemt11 profile image
Mitchell Mutandah

Hello and welcome, Michaela!

Collapse
 
mlichtblau profile image
Michaela Cordero

Thank you. 😊

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°‱.☆

Hello there! I wish you much luck on your career change, how exciting! You can do it! ✹ Welcome to DEV :)

Collapse
 
mlichtblau profile image
Michaela Cordero

Thank you so much Anita. Very excited. ;)

Collapse
 
qwertyy profile image
qwertyy

wow, that must be intimidating. best of luck!

Collapse
 
codecruncher86 profile image
Chris Newton

Hello World! 👋

I am currently studying Frontend developement part-time. I am looking for a career change that can enable me to create usefull web applications that can make peoples lives just a little bit easier. This is my first step on my journey and I am looking forward to meeting new people along the way!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Welcome Chris!

Collapse
 
codecruncher86 profile image
Chris Newton

Thanks Thomas!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°‱.☆

Hello! 👋 Much welcome to DEV! I hope you will love it here!

Collapse
 
daniiiol profile image
Daniel

Hi folks 👋

I am a wannabe ethical hacker and chaos engineer. I was formerly a software architect and now I mainly work in security topics. Looking forward to good discussions and the opportunity to learn new things. 😊

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°‱.☆ • Edited

Hello there! 👋 You got such a cool career! ✹ How did you get there?

I got an interest in etchical hacking as well! Today I completed the Introduction To Ethical Hacking course on Codecademy which I started on yesterday. I also enjoy hacking games like EXAPUNKS! I got a whole bunch of hacker games (a little over 30), some of them even look quite realistic like the Hacker Evolution series! (You may disagree).

Image description

Much welcome to our wonderful community! I am the unofficial welcome committee of one 😁 ✹

Collapse
 
daniiiol profile image
Daniel

Hi Anita

Cool, I didn't know that game yet!

The paths are often mysterious :) Actually, I've always been interested in security, but never had the energy to fully familiarize myself with it (I'm more of a 0% or 100% guy. I'm not good at anything in between). Then I got the opportunity and realized that there aren't that many people in the industry who can really program and know how developers think. I see the possibility that I can make a positive difference in my bubble. That gives me the energy :)

I am happy to be a part of DEV!

Collapse
 
tecno-security profile image
TECNO Security

Good job! We also need the security research! Would you like to join the TECNO Security Bounty program?

Collapse
 
daniiiol profile image
Daniel

You have started a partnership with HackerOne, right? Are your programs on the H1 platform, or still on yours?

Thread Thread
 
tecno-security profile image
TECNO Security

We don't work with HackerOne right now, but we have our platform, and you can check this out: security.tecno.com/SRC/blogdetail/...

Collapse
 
mannu profile image
Mannu

Welcome to DEV @daniiiol ^^

Collapse
 
mihailocv profile image
Mihailo Cvjetinovic

Welcome to DEVđŸ„ł

Collapse
 
tecno-security profile image
TECNO Security

Hello, I am part of TECNO Security and our goal is to make TECNO products more secure. We work with security researchers around the world to protect TECNOC product security and user privacy security.
We look forward to meeting more security researchers here, sharing security technology knowledge and security research together, and look forward to having more interaction and communication with you.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Welcome on DEV! đŸ„ł
We still need security on the Internet. You've got a tag (or even several) for that!

#security

Hopefully not just an afterthought!
Collapse
 
tecno-security profile image
TECNO Security

Thanks

Collapse
 
joel_moran_0c080db88fa292 profile image
Joel Moran

Hello everybody! Thank you for letting me join this group.
My name is Joel. I am originally from the Philippines but now residing in Germany for almost 30years. I am 62 years old and am currently back to school to learn how to code and be a Full Stack Web Developer.
I am very glad to join this community where coders share their knowledge and help each other in dealing with programming issues.

Happy hacking to us all!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Welcome Joel! 🙌
Don't hesitate to follow people and tags like

#webdev

Because the internet...
Collapse
 
joel_moran_0c080db88fa292 profile image
Joel Moran

Hi Thomas,
Thanks for allowing me to join here.
So many interesting threads and people to follow; not enough time for all.
But yes, I will of course follow many tags and coders, too.
Cheers!

Thread Thread
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

aha yes indeed it would take a lot of time to see everything, have a nice day!

Collapse
 
mariasyd profile image
Mariya Sayyid

Hey folks, Maria here. Just joined this awesome community to dive into some great conversations! As a programmer and perpetual learner, I'm all about soaking up knowledge and connecting with fellow enthusiasts. Let's learn and grow together!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°‱.☆

Hello, Maria! 👋 I love knowledge, I have ever since I was a child! I love learning new things, I am all ecstatic about it! ✹ Much welcome to our wonderful community! I hope you will love it here as much as I do! 😊

Collapse
 
mannu profile image
Mannu

Welcome Mariya ^^

Collapse
 
mihailocv profile image
Mihailo Cvjetinovic

Welcome to DEVđŸ„ł

Collapse
 
kulabuha profile image
АлДĐșсДĐč ĐšŃƒĐ»Đ°Đ±ŃƒŃ…ĐŸĐČ

Hi to all, I working as a software engineer.
Keen on programming and learning new technologies.

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°‱.☆

Hello! 👋 Welcome to the DEV communty! I hope you will have a blast here!

Collapse
 
mihailocv profile image
Mihailo Cvjetinovic

Welcome to DEVđŸ„ł

Collapse
 
dhirenshah profile image
Dhiren SHAH

Hello Everyone,
Very happy to be here. I am from Mumbai, India 🇼🇳

I am a Frontend developer, working with an Agency. Interested in learning and exploring more and more JavaScript and animation technology.

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°‱.☆ • Edited

Hello there! Welcome to our wonderful community! ✹

Collapse
 
dhirenshah profile image
Dhiren SHAH

Thank you @anitaolsen 😊

Collapse
 
mihailocv profile image
Mihailo Cvjetinovic

Welcome to DEVđŸ„ł

Collapse
 
muhammad_musfer_b4abbb430 profile image
Muhammad Musfer

Hi there,
My name is Musfer and I am a full stack developer with over a working experience of 4+ years in the tech industry. During these years I have mainly worked in Js related frameworks and technologies. I'm thrilled to dive deeper into the dynamic world of the DEV community and grow alongside with all of you.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited

Welcome Musfer! đŸ„łđŸ„ł

Collapse
 
cantaslicukur profile image
Can TaƟlıçukur

Hello world!

I am an R/Shiny Developer, hailing from Turkey. I am currently working @ Appsilon.

I found this place through MDN. I am interested in data science and FE development.

Collapse
 
mannu profile image
Mannu

Welcome to DEV @cantaslicukur :)

Collapse
 
mihailocv profile image
Mihailo Cvjetinovic

Welcome to DEVđŸ„ł

Collapse
 
milan_kalinic_ed4fdb5ce96 profile image
milan kalinic

In the Software Industry for more than 14 years, worked on various projects, but mostly with Microsoft Tech Stack (.NET, SQL & Azure) + Javascript/Angular.

Always too shy to join any community, so you guys will be the first 😊

Thank you for running a project like this, and thank you for being active, it helping growth to many! If I can help in any way, please shout!

Milan

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕ • Edited

Don't be shy, welcome here Milan! đŸ„ł
We have a great community and good posts here, feel free to follow some fellows and tags like

#sql

Posts on tips and tricks, using and learning about SQL for database development and analysis.

#net


#angular

One of the world's most popular frontend JavaScript frameworks.

#javascript

Once relegated to the browser as one of the 3 core technologies of the web, JavaScript can now be found almost anywhere you find code. JavaScript developers move fast and push software development forward; they can be as opinionated as the frameworks they use, so let's keep it clean here and make it a place to learn from each other!
Collapse
 
dhjariwala profile image
Dev Jariwala

Hi everyone.
I'm a software developer who likes to create new softwares that are practical and/or fun to use.

I am really passionate about open-source projects, data science, and making things fun.

Looking forward to interacting with the community.

Collapse
 
shehzadhussain profile image
Shehzad Hussain

I'm a front-end developer with three years of experience, I've evolved into a full-fledged front-end developer.

Passionate about creating user-friendly interfaces and staying updated on the latest front-end technologies, I thrive on turning innovative ideas into captivating digital experiences.

Beyond coding, I am a tea and nature enthusiast, finding joy in the simple pleasures of life. Excited about the endless possibilities in the tech world, I am eager to connect and collaborate with like-minded professionals. Let's explore and create together.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.