DEV Community

Cover image for Quit your job to change your life
Karine BAUCH
Karine BAUCH

Posted on • Updated on

Quit your job to change your life

Just over two years ago I chose to change my professional life.
I wondered a lot about the lack of motivation I was feeling in my job at this moment.

I didn't know if it was the job, the company or if it was just temporary.

So I decided to do a skills assessment, during which I had an epiphany: I want to be a developer!


Quit My Company

I talked with my managers, trying to get an educational leave, but they declined.

They suggested me a convective fracture, in fact, they asked me to quit but with benefits.

OK, I saw they don't try to keep me in the company, even for another position as a developer, so I accepted their proposal and I leave on April '23.


Do A Web Dev Training

From September '21 to March '22, I followed a training course at O'clock School. A remote school, but with real courses in videoconference.

That was a very good period of my professional transition.
I learned many things, from zero to hero ^^

In the end, we have developed a complete web application for bikers to organize their journey, hotels, and restaurants, choosing the type of road they want.
That was a big work but we worked together and realized a very cool application.


Algorithm Training

When I tried to find a CDI job, I understand that I wasn't good enough at algorithms and understanding how code works.

I found, thanks to a friend, a course built in another way than others.
I was the first to begin it and the first to finish it.
I passed 2 months to work on it and begin better.


Back-End

In my precedent job, I was a graphic designer (with other tasks too), who mainly did catalogues and other print files.

After 10 years of doing that, changing just a little thing that nobody cares about, trying several changes, and returning to the first try, depending on someone's tastes, I didn't want to do this again...

I needed more technical tasks, and obviously, I decided to become a back-end developer.


And Now?

Today, I have changed my way of learning Python skills.
Why? You will discover that in another article on this blog.


And you?

Tell me if you have chosen, or you want to quit your job to change your career in the comments.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I've never heard of "quitting with benefits" before. What does that mean?

Collapse
 
karine_bauch profile image
Karine BAUCH

That means that I quitted with compensations
I have done a « rupture conventionnelle » in french (I don’t know how to say in English 😬

Collapse
 
ssinad profile image
Sina D

Mutually agreed termination?

Thread Thread
 
karine_bauch profile image
Karine BAUCH

Yes, I think that's it :-)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

I am completely switching careers as well, from being just a developer to taking care of developer's careers.

That's a long story, and very much in progress, but it all started here on DEV
Specifically with this rant