DEV Community

Cover image for Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Homeland Edition II 🏠)
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

Music Monday — What are you listening to? (Homeland Edition II 🏠)

cover image source: Giphy

That's right! We're bringing it back home again. The plan for this one is the same as last time... I'd like everybody to share music from their homeland. Could be a band from the same city you were born in, or maybe it's a genre of music that's popular in your home country. Perhaps it's a pop song about the place that you currently live, or just a tune that makes you feel at home for a special reason. All are fair ways of thinking about it! Please drop in some songs that remind you of home and let us know why they do.

A graphic of Fela Kuti playing saxophone. There are three images of him playing sax on top of a background that is red, green, and yellow.


How we do

In this weekly series, folks can chime in and drop links to whatever it is they've been listening to recently + browse others' suggestions. You can follow the suggested genre if you'd like, but don't feel confined to it; you're free to suggest whatever you wanna. 🙌

If you're interested in having other discussions about music, consider following the aptly named #music discussions organization.


Share some music with me that reminds you of home! Note: you can embed a link to your song using the following syntax {% embed https://... %}. This should work for most common platforms!

Looking forward to listening to y'all's suggestions! 🎶

Top comments (34)

Collapse
 
brnms profile image
Bruno Santos • Edited

Being a metalhead from Brazil I could take the easy route and recommend Sepultura or Angra, but I'll do something different this time, Charlie Brown Jr is one of the most popular bands in Brazil and their style is a mix punk rock, reggae, surf music and hip hop. Unfortunately the band is no longer active because the singer and main songwriter died in 2013.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Oh badass! This is cool, Bruno.

Kinda reminds of a darker version of the Chili Peppers. I can hear the melting pot of genres that you're talking about.

I looked up the singer, Chorão on Wikipedia ... damn, 43 is way too young to go! That sucks.

Thanks for sharing this group — they got an interesting sound!

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Nossaa, Charlie Brown... Ai você amassou mano 🤟

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Today from the great state of NYC its rap/hip hop. We are only going up to certain artists/eras on this.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww yeah, Stefan! NYC is the origin after all.

So many amazing NYC rappers, it's hard to pick just one... I've always enjoyed Nas though.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Yeah...too many to list. It's just not fair to any of them. For the sake of argument...I'm including Jersey as well.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Awww yeah, my wife is from Northvale/Montvale area, so I'm glad to hear that's included — that's like my home away from home, haha.

Any favorites from Jersey?

Thread Thread
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Redman
Iced-T
Queen Latifah
Sugar Hill Gang
Fugees
Naughty by Nature
Poor Righteous Teachers

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Damn! What a list. 🔥

Admittedly, I wasn't familiar with Poor Righteous Teachers. I'm listening to'em now and these guys are dope. Thanks so much for sharing!

Thread Thread
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Glad I was able to assist!

Collapse
 
sinisterchef profile image
Kyle O'Brien

For hometown, Cincinnati, we got a couple heavy hitters, "Talib Kweli" and "The National" which I love both. Just depends on how I'm feeling as both artist are very different. Right now at the moment i've been digging "Kojey Radical - Reason to Smile" and "Denzel Curry - Melt my Eyez see your future".

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh heck yeah! Cincinnati really does have some good ones.

I love Talib Kweli. 🙌

I really enjoy this show called Digging the Greats on YouTube and he did a video about a year ago about Mos Def and Talbi Kweli's album Black Star... it's awesome.

As for the The National, I haven't quite gotten into them yet, but I know about them and I know they're good... it's just a matter of time, haha. You got any good first album recommendations for them?

I'll also check out these other 2 recommendations from ya. Thanks Kyle!

Collapse
 
sinisterchef profile image
Kyle O'Brien • Edited

I will 1000% check out that episode of Digging The Greats.
For the National, I think I would recommend their 2010 album "High Violet". Its not really... happy music. Its for the sad-bill-paying-adult-but-still-clinging-to-emo-punk inside of us all. It is incredibly crafted and beautiful music for when you're having a bad day, its there for you.

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian

TBH I'm rarely following my own homeland music trends, but there some artists that caught my ears attention. One of maybe the Diskoria, specialized in bringing us nostalgic vintage tunes.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Aww heck yeah, Dendi! I'm really enjoying this one. Very smooth and definitely has some nostalgic vibes to it.

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

And my current hometown...it's got it's problems (what city doesn't?), but I love it here...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

This is a really cool song! I hadn't heard these folks before. Some great acoustic guitar playing and I really like the storytelling too. Good anthem for a place!

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

Hattiesburg, MS represent...I hung out with him before he hit the big time...that memory is hazy though... 😁

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Great song to listen to.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hahaha! That is awesome, Keith. Hard to think of a better person to have a hazy memory of. 😉

Admittedly, the song "Colt 45" holds a special place in my memory.

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

on Pink Floyd Floyd

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Pink Floyd rocks! You got a favorite tune, Bala?

Collapse
 
balagmadhu profile image
Bala Madhusoodhanan

Echo, High Hopes, Nobody home !!... the list goes on :-D

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Great freaking choices! 🙌

Collapse
 
adamdsherman profile image
AdamDSherman • Edited

Brothertiger's synth-wave cover of Take a Picture by Filter.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Wow! I freaking love me some synthwave and this is a really cool version of a classic. Reminds me of MTV TRL days haha! It's kinda got a Peter Gabriel Your Eyes vibe to it. Good suggestion, Adam!

Collapse
 
adamdsherman profile image
AdamDSherman

Check out his cover of This Must Be The Place, too!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Last time around, I shouted out a couple indie groups from NC (Sylvan Esso & Future Islands), shouted out some NC-centric Hip Hop tunes (Petey Pablo's "Raise Up" being one of them), and also threw a bone to my local hometown classic R&B star, Ben E. King.

Now, I'm coming back at ya with more music from my home state of North Carolina....

First up, Rainbow Kitten Surprise who hail from the mountains of NC. They are an incredible band and I've suggested them more than once in this Music Monday series. If you ever get the chance to see them live, do it! Here's a new one by them.

Also from NC (Fayetteville), J Cole is imo one of the best rappers out there. Here's a good one for y'all:

Lastly, here's a classic tune about NC for y'all from one of our greats, James Taylor:

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

This one's fresh out of the oven

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

This was really cool, Vicente. It just straight up rocked and reminded me of some cool alternative music from when I was growing up! Great share.

Collapse
 
lizzzzz profile image
Liz Acosta

Cali born and raised so it's gotta be "California Love" 🤘

youtu.be/J7_bMdYfSws?feature=shared

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww yeaaa! Such a classic. California knows how to party, haha. 🙌

Collapse
 
madzimai profile image
Netsai

I'm listening to lekkermelodies.com/

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh heck yes! This is really familiar to me and nicely made.

Did you happen to share this here before? I love these kinda white noise sorta machines. One of my personal faves is mynoise.net/

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.